Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This was a great, flavorful dish! I didn't have allspice or cardomon, and I substituted a videlia onion for a red onion, but it was still delicious and pretty easy to make! Make sure you add the fresh mint for extra flavor. It made a huge difference! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
We didn't care for this. We liked the spices used but the flavor of orange was too strong and the vegetables could be cooked longer before adding the couscous, but that could just be personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I LOVED this, but my boyfriend didn't care for the orange. I thought all the flavors blended perfectly and were surprisingly subtle. I loved the contrasting textures of the creamy garbanzos and the crisp veggies, plus the occasional sweet bite of raisin. I used fresh ginger (which I added with the beans) and vegetable broth, and I caramelized the onions (after toasting the spices, I removed them and then added them back in with the peppers and zucchini). This is definitely a keeper for me as is, but I'll try it with 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, a bit of honey, and some lemon zest, and I'll adjust the broth accordingly and see if my boyfriend likes it that way (although I don't think the lemon will go as well with the flavors of the spices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Wonderful! Sure to impress your guests at a dinner party - looks quite impressive once served. Don't omit the chopped mint, it is the perfect finishing touch to this couscous! Great melange of flavors, textures and colors. The exotic combination of spices is a true feast for the sophisticated palate. This was a huge hit with my boyfriend (a very picky eater) and my best friend loved this too and she once lived in Morocco! A success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This was really good. We'll have this again. It wasnt too difficult either. Its good with caramilized onions on top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This dish was delicious! I served it to company and they all loved it. I would make it again. Very fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This is excellent served with Lisa's Lamb Tagine. I didn't have a zucchini, but it was deicious just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Excellent flavor and so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was very good with the rest of the moroccan dinner I was serving - it went over very well. If you happen to be able to get your hands on ras al hanout season blend, you don't have to worry around with all the different spices - just use a tablespoon of that, and then add the ginger. Places like Cost Plus carry it really cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Beautiful!!! This was so easy and full of so many colors and flavors. I didn't have all of the spices, so I just used cumin, cayenne, ginger, and allspice. I'm sure it would be even better with the other spices but this was still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States