Moroccan Chickpea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
We LOVED this recipe! Took some others advice and cooked the potatoes longer. We didn't add raisins or cilantro but it was still fantastic.Great way to use the super food kale. Next time we will try sweet potatoes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
i was looking for a soup recipe that was nontraditional as i had been sick for a few days and was getting tired of the same old chicken noodle/veggie soups.. i was intrigued by the spices and mostly made this for the broth.. my modifications were to use one potato, two carrots, two stalks celery, half a large red and green bell pepper, add some fresh slices of ginger, omit the tomato sauce and raisins, and instead of adding water i used chicken broth, i subbed three bone in skinless chicken thighs for the chickpeas and spinach for the kale--which i had forgotten to add until i was down to the last two bowls of soup, along with the cilantro.. doh!.. even with all the changes i had to make for what was left in the house, this came out tasting very good and gave me something fortifying to eat while trying to recover from this nasty cold.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Superb. This recipe is so delicious. I followed it exactly except I threw in a can of hominy just because I had it and wanted to use it up. I also doubled the garam masala since I added extra ingredients. It made 7-8 servings for me and I look forward to eating every one. Tomorrow I want to make homemade naan to go with. I wanted to give this six stars. Delightful and soul satisfying. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJMG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terryville, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I really liked this. I bought kale for the first time this week and used it also with bacon, potatoes and garlic - not as healthy as this recipe though. Kale is hearty eating and with the potatoes in this recipe its a meal in itself... It seemed to be missing something for me so i added coconut milk but i don't think thats it .. needed a little natural sweetness from somewhere .. I will definitely try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is really an incredible recipe. The spices are great! I have made it 3 times and serve it with naan. The recipe does take longer than it says, as others mentioned, but that's okay because it's worth it. I also love adding eggplant to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Hutchens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
delicious! I used fresh garden tomatoes instead of canned but followed rest to a "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Amazing! Made a few changes; used half sweet potato & half white. Will use even more sweet potato next time. I doubled the curry powder & due to the fact I used sweet potato I omitted the apricots & used half the amount of raisins. Omitted the tomato sauce & used my favourite veggie broth. Used fresh tomatos in place of canned. My only regret is that I did not double the recipe. My kids ate 2 bowls full & there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was great-- I used a quart of home-canned crushed tomatoes and some homemade "rotel"(with plenty of roasted pablanos) instead of the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes, used vegetable broth instead of water, and sweet potatoes instead of potatoes. I also omitted the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
These flavors go nicely with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I added more of what I had (spinach instead of kale) but kept the initial recipe intact and loved it. With the leftovers the next day,I added carrots,more spices and canned lite coconut milk! WOW! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Blair Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States