Moroccan Chickpea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Superb. This recipe is so delicious. I followed it exactly except I threw in a can of hominy just because I had it and wanted to use it up. I also doubled the garam masala since I added extra ingredients. It made 7-8 servings for me and I look forward to eating every one. Tomorrow I want to make homemade naan to go with. I wanted to give this six stars. Delightful and soul satisfying. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJMG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terryville, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I really liked this. I bought kale for the first time this week and used it also with bacon, potatoes and garlic - not as healthy as this recipe though. Kale is hearty eating and with the potatoes in this recipe its a meal in itself... It seemed to be missing something for me so i added coconut milk but i don't think thats it .. needed a little natural sweetness from somewhere .. I will definitely try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
delicious! I used fresh garden tomatoes instead of canned but followed rest to a "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Amazing! Made a few changes; used half sweet potato & half white. Will use even more sweet potato next time. I doubled the curry powder & due to the fact I used sweet potato I omitted the apricots & used half the amount of raisins. Omitted the tomato sauce & used my favourite veggie broth. Used fresh tomatos in place of canned. My only regret is that I did not double the recipe. My kids ate 2 bowls full & there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was great-- I used a quart of home-canned crushed tomatoes and some homemade "rotel"(with plenty of roasted pablanos) instead of the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes, used vegetable broth instead of water, and sweet potatoes instead of potatoes. I also omitted the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
These flavors go nicely with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I added more of what I had (spinach instead of kale) but kept the initial recipe intact and loved it. With the leftovers the next day,I added carrots,more spices and canned lite coconut milk! WOW! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Blair Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Was looking for something very delicious and different. Wow! Did this fit the bill! Sauteed fresh jalapeno in with the onions and garlic for extra punch. Used one and a half fresh tomatoes as I didn't have canned. Used curry and other spices but not ground coriander as I didn't have, but also added Thai spice blend that I had in my pantry. Used regular raisins, not golden. I used four potatoes, but they really needed a lot of time to get soft. (Maybe time differs with types of potatoes?) Threw in some frozen carrots for extra eye appeal and to balance the spices. In any case, this was my first recipe ever cooking with kale. Loved it, loved it, loved it. My vegetarian son gives this two thumbs up! A keeper and one that will be integrated into meal rotation! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
YUM!Substituted spinach for Kale. Didn't have coriander, found recipe for garam masala in all recipes, used regular raisins and reduced amount of cayenne pepper by half, increased cumin to double. Topped with dollop of Greek non fat yougert, cilantro a must!!!! Hubby and I Loved it bursting with flavor..better next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I find it is a recipe that you can do a lot with and experiment. For instance, instead of using diced tomatoes and kale I put in salsa and spinach, scrumptious! I also found it took a bit more cooking time than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States