Morning Glory Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I was worried that the texture would be weird, seeing all the coarsely grated carrot and apple in the bowl, but they turned out really quite smooth! Chunky enough to make them interesting, the flavour is nicely spread around. A nice wintry muffin, I'd recommend adding a lot of extra cinnamon (I did 1.5 teaspoons, but next time I'll add more). Might be good with nutmeg? To turn into a real treat, try adding a cream cheese carrot cake icing. Tastes like carrot cake. Pineapple might make this a bit more like traditional carrot cake, but they're nice they way they are. Sugar just about right! Think I'll try applesauce instead of oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
These are the best morning glory muffins I've ever had! Like some of the others here I modified slightly...I substituted a combination of craisins and dried cherries for the dates, I squeezed all the water our of the grated apple and I used slightly less sugar than called for. My family LOVED them and we will most definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Great! We've decided we need 1/2 dz of these in the house at all times. I omitted dates and used twice the nuts (walnuts rather than pecans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
These muffins are fabulous. I've made them twice as muffins and once as a carrot cake. I didn't have any dates so I used golden raisins. When I made this into a cake, I added an additional 1/4 cup of sugar and baked it for 40 minutes in a 9x13 cake pan. Also topped it with cream cheese frosting. Got rave reviews as both muffins and as a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Ok, I made these muffins and I have to tell you-THEY ARE GREAT!!! However, I did alter the recipe a little (OK A LOT!) But I added stuff and used different nuts. I added blueberries (instead of using dates)...I substituted almonds for pecans....and I added a cup of (fiber enriched) bran flakes pureed in the food processor (but you have to use more oil)...But instead of using oil, I use Best Foods Mayo (1 1/2 cups)---makes muffins super moist...and I had to use one more egg and I also added 1 cup of organic apple sauce. Oh yeah, I also used Splenda baking sugar instead of regular sugar....Instead of muffin cups, I made mini-loaf muffins and they turned out SOOOOOO good and SOOOOOO yummy!!! This is a definite KEEPER recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmacias121704

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
TURNED OUT GREAT...THESE MUFFINS HAD A LITTLE BIT OF EVERYTHING.I USED A LITTLE LESS CINNAMON (1 1/2 TEASPOONS) AND USED 1/2 CUP APPLEBUTTER INSTEAD OF OIL. THE APPLEBUTTER HAS A NICE FLAVOR THAT COMPLIMENTS THESE MUFFINS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
These are a new favorite and a great way to have veggie and fruit in the morning. I omitted dates as I didn't have any and don't like coconut. I also replaced half of the oil with applesauce and sprinkled a packet of instant apple oatmeal on the tops of the muffins before baking. This added an extra apple/sweet flavor. They went incredibly fast as we all for them as a snack throughout the day, but they only got more moist as they sat. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
These are good. I used carrots and apples, and ommitted the nuts. They are tasty and make a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
These are very good. I just used what I had in my cupboard which ended up being apples, carrots, coconut, dried cranberries and hazelnuts. I also used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white. Next time to make them healthier, I will eliminate some of the sugar and fat by replacing some of it with honey and flax seeds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
These were fantastic and I have never been overly fond of muffins before. I decided to try them in my kids lunch box and they loved them. The only changes I made were to substitute mixed dried fruit for the dates and reduce the sugar and use some honey instead. They come out great and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Tiptree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States