Morning Glory Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I substituted half of the flour with wheat flour, coconut oil instead of vegetable and half of the sugar with unrefined organic sugar. I used a juicer for the carrots & apples to make them more digestable, which after combining juice and pulp amounts to approx. 1 c. each (rather than 1.5 c). Note that the batter is thick and sticky. Also, I added 1/2 c. dried pineapple pieces (soaked for an hr in water then drained) and a tbs of dried orange zest. Muffins turned out great and extremely moist! They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was very good. They looked picture-perfect! Moist! Maybe a bit sweet for my tastes, but overall, we really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crozet, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made these because I had a some dates to get rid of, and just happened to have the rest of the ingredients on hand, too. These were good, but not spectacular. I followed the recipe exactly, except didn't peel my apples (nor did I notice the peels once all chopped up!). Using a food processor makes these a lot quicker. I grated everything first, then because it's such a course grate I put the apple and carrots in and pulse chopped it a few times. To me these are really more like not as sweet carrot cake, and I prefer them with a very thin layer of cream cheese frosting. I don't know how some people only got 12 muffins from this recipe. I filled regular muffin cups 3/4 full with batter and got 21 muffins! I do like recipes that use lots of fruits/veggies like this because my kids like these types of breads and otherwise wouldn't eat half the stuff in these. My four year old ate 3 of these in one day and wanted more! Also, these were better a day later, staying moist and seemed more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Great muffins! I didn't have any dates or raisins so I omitted them and I only used 3/4 cup of sugar because the coconut was sweetened. They turned out perfectly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I personally didn't try the muffins, but gave them to a volunteer group as well as a few to a friend. When asked, they rated them between 4 and a half to 5. I followed the recipe to a tee. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
LOVED these. I was looking for a good carrot muffin as my kids love them...this is it!! I made all mini-muffins and froze half of them. The next morning I had to defrost them because my kids had already eaten the first half. I am going to double the recipe next time. I did use a blender for the apples and carrots...much faster!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GGRASLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
By far the best muffin I have ever had! I followed the recipe exactly and would not change a thing. How nice to get away from raisins and walnuts and have delicious dates and peacans! That coupled with healthy carrots, apples (I used granny smith) and coconut....HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Need more flavor a bit dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I don't know why, but I didn't like this recipe too much. I think it would have been better w/less apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
These were okay. I'm still rating it a 4 because I didn't use nuts. I like this muffin, but I think it needs some butter for flavor. Maybe use 2 tbsp of melted butter instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States