Morning Glory Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Really nice muffin ... left out the pecans, cut the sugar down to 3/4C, changed dates to raisins .... forgot the coconut, but didn't really miss it ... Definately a keeper. Thank you lovemydanes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I used a full cup of shredded coconut and extra vanilla (double), and omitted the raisins altogether. These turned out perfectly - a hearty, wholesome breakfast muffin. I will definitely add it to my baking rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I left out the dates and the pecans, my children don't like them, and these muffins came out delicious. I guess I made them bigger than I should; I only got 14 muffins instead of 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
These are delicious! They bake nicely. Quick oats are important. I had only regular oats so my muffins were rather dense. But they worked okay anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
For overall taste and texture these were good! I must say though if you're using freshly grated carrots, strain first to remove excess water. When measuring the carrots, pack them in. If you've got a food processor you can get this done much faster. Blend first ingredients, pour into bowl, then process other ingredients and add to flour mixture. So much faster and less labor :-) These would be good with a frosting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
My version: (vegan!) 1/2 c whole wheat flour+1 1/2 c all purpose flour 3/4 c sugar 1 1/2 tsp baking soda 2 tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp salt 1 c grated carrots 3/4 c grated apples 3/4 c coconut 3 Tbsp corn starch 5/8 c applesauce 1/4 c canola oil 1/2 tsp vanilla *Took much less time to bake, only like 12 minutes. Also, only yields about 12 regular sized muffins. These are wonderful though, not too sweet and very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
YUM! I messed around with the recipe a bit but I'll still give it five stars 'cause I think the original would be amazing too, or even better - I didn't have dates or nuts, so I didn't use them, but I bet they would have been great. I cut back on the sugar a bit as suggested, and subbed in some brown sugar for some of the white. I had a can of crushed pineapple that I drained and used instead of the apple pieces. So basically I used this recipe for carrot cake muffins =) and they were delicious! Obviously a very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I cut back on the sugar and regretted it. Use all the sugar. My toddler loved them though and can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I substituted half of the flour with wheat flour, coconut oil instead of vegetable and half of the sugar with unrefined organic sugar. I used a juicer for the carrots & apples to make them more digestable, which after combining juice and pulp amounts to approx. 1 c. each (rather than 1.5 c). Note that the batter is thick and sticky. Also, I added 1/2 c. dried pineapple pieces (soaked for an hr in water then drained) and a tbs of dried orange zest. Muffins turned out great and extremely moist! They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was very good. They looked picture-perfect! Moist! Maybe a bit sweet for my tastes, but overall, we really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crozet, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States