Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is such a great muffin base. I have tweaked it in so many ways and it doesn't disappoint. My favourite change is to add chopped up (dried) apricots. I always use whole wheat flour only (in everything). I substitute 1 cup of applesauce instead of the apple butter and oil - healthier, and you'd never know the difference. Mini muffins take about 12-15 mins (depending on size) and regular muffins took about 17-21 mins (also, depending on how full you fill the muffin tin). I try to make a different batch of muffins each week for healthy snacks for my family, but this is hands-down the favourite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
great muffins! very easy to freeze and reheat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I use applesauce and peanut butter for added protein. I also use whole wheat flour and flax seed. Turns out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made these today, having only heard of these muffins on this site and thus never tried them before. So, I have nothing to compare them to. They were an interesting muffin. I liked that they were not overly sweet, which does make them perfect as a morning muffin. On Cooks Country, though, they said that the title came from the name of the restaurant/bakery that created them. I decided to test with 1/2 recipe and got 9 muffins as suggested by doing so. I followed the recipe exactly, except I only had 1/3 cup of raisins for half the recipe so I was a little short. However, there still seemed to be plenty of raisins. I also just used 1 egg, for half the recipe instead of the egg white and egg for ease and to avoid waste. I even liked the topping of wheat germ and walnuts. It was a nice change from the overly sweet sugary toppings on so many muffins. I am going to see how they taste tomorrow. They may be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This was pretty good but I found them a bit dry my liking. I can appreciate all the terrific ingredients that went into these, but chances are I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Loved it! I cut the sugar back to 1 cup and used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown. Did not use apple. Used two whole eggs and 1 egg white - figured the recipe could use the extra fat and liquid. Added 1/2 cup walnuts to batter. Followed the recipe otherwise, including using a lightly sprayed muffin pan with no liners. I did have to loosen the muffins with a knife a tiny bit, but with a little coaxing I was able to get them out of the pan without damaging any. What I really liked about the recipe is that the muffins were beautifully domed and didn't sink or overrun. With the slightly decreased sugar, these were perfect, well, they were perfect with a schmear of butter. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
These muffins are great. Minor modifications were made because I didn't have wheat germ and only two eggs on hand. I used two whole eggs and added some flax seed, and the remainder of the recipe was exact. I made mini muffins that were moist and delicious and the apples were a great addition. My daughters told me that this was their new favorite muffin.I had to put them away immediately or my family was going to devour them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I'm noting my changes for myself but I made two changes on accident (that happens when toddlers are in the kitchen)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I liked this, and my husband said it's "Good for healthified"--that's high praise from him! They are a little dense since there's not a lot of fat, and they also take more mixing than most muffin recipes. I only had baby carrots, and I really wish I'd followed another suggestion to use a food processor. Doing it by hand took way too long! When I make this in the future, I'll either do that or use full size carrots. BTW, the carrots aren't really detected in the finished product, even though they have the texture of shaved coconut in the raw batter. I scaled this to 12 muffins. The website calculated most ingredients as needed, but I made a couple more adjustments for that quantity: 1 whole egg plus 1 egg white, 1 whole apple, 1 cup carrots. Update: I made them again but subbed 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the egg whites. This resulted in a moister, more tender muffin. I'll definitely do this in the future! Full size carrots worked better than baby, but it still took so long to shred by hand that I'll probably stick with a food processor from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 711) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States