Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I've made these muffins several times now, each time to share with friends or colleagues. They are always well received and gone in no time. I've consistently cut the sugar by 1/4c and no one's complained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al Barnicle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Great muffins but too much sugar for me. The carrots and apple butter are sweet too so I only used half a cup of sugar. Added more apples and instead od 1 egg and two egg whites just used 3 eggs ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Delicious as a dessert. Way too sweet for a breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
So, so good. I wanted something healthy I could grab on the go on the way to work and this will def do the trick! I added 1/2 c fresh cranberries and decreased the raisins by half, and used half sugar and half Splenda (instead of all sugar). They are still sweet enough and the cranberries add a perfect amount of tartness. Love the walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe. I was just under impressed after all the good reviews and I didn't even make any changes to the recipe like some do. My family didn't like them and said they wished I had just made zucchini muffins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I did not use the apple butter as I do not have any. I substituted in 1/3 cup of oil instead as that was what I had, this was in addition to what was already called for in the recipe. I also added an extra half an apple since I skipped the apple butter. I did not cube my apples, I shredded them as I prefer them that way in this type of muffin. Also, I upped the amount of walnuts and I am so glad I did. The recipe definitely does not call for enough if you enjoy walnuts. Wonderful flavor will be putting this into our rotation. I made mine into mini-bread loaves and cooked about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
These were really good! Like others suggested I subbed 1cup unsweetened applesauce for the Apple butter and oil. I used whole wheat flour instead of white. I also used craisins instead of raisins. Next time I will probably use a little less sugar as they were really sweet. I left off the nuts and wheat germ because we didn't have any. It didn't make a bit of difference! Both my kids are very picky eaters (4 and 1) and they loved them, and I didn't feel awful letting them have one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I use have the sugar and still find them plenty sweet. They are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Very good for a healthier-than-most muffin. This is a very forgiving recipe and can be adapted to what you have on hand. I Followed others advice and used applesauce (1 cup) instead of oil and apple butter. Threw in a few tablespoons each of almond meal, coconut flour, flaxseed and chia instead of the whole wheat flour. Instead of raisins, I had a dried fruit mix of raisins, craisin, dried goji berries, and cherries - plumped them up in a little hot water for a few minutes before adding them. I had pecans instead of walnuts and I just put them in the batter. Would not have minded having a few more tablespoons of them for added crunch. Used coconut sugar (1 cup) and brown sugar (1/4 cup) but could probably cut back to 1 cup sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe! I actually had some homemade pumpkin butter in my refrigerator and it worked perfectly in place of the apple butter. The batter was definitely thick, but the grated fruit / veggies gave it the moisture it needed. My husband, 16 year old son, and 14 month old all enjoyed these. I subbed dried cherries for raisins. I also mixed the wheat germ and walnuts into the batter instead of sprinkling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States