Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Delicious as a dessert. Way too sweet for a breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
So, so good. I wanted something healthy I could grab on the go on the way to work and this will def do the trick! I added 1/2 c fresh cranberries and decreased the raisins by half, and used half sugar and half Splenda (instead of all sugar). They are still sweet enough and the cranberries add a perfect amount of tartness. Love the walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe. I was just under impressed after all the good reviews and I didn't even make any changes to the recipe like some do. My family didn't like them and said they wished I had just made zucchini muffins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I did not use the apple butter as I do not have any. I substituted in 1/3 cup of oil instead as that was what I had, this was in addition to what was already called for in the recipe. I also added an extra half an apple since I skipped the apple butter. I did not cube my apples, I shredded them as I prefer them that way in this type of muffin. Also, I upped the amount of walnuts and I am so glad I did. The recipe definitely does not call for enough if you enjoy walnuts. Wonderful flavor will be putting this into our rotation. I made mine into mini-bread loaves and cooked about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
These were really good! Like others suggested I subbed 1cup unsweetened applesauce for the Apple butter and oil. I used whole wheat flour instead of white. I also used craisins instead of raisins. Next time I will probably use a little less sugar as they were really sweet. I left off the nuts and wheat germ because we didn't have any. It didn't make a bit of difference! Both my kids are very picky eaters (4 and 1) and they loved them, and I didn't feel awful letting them have one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I use have the sugar and still find them plenty sweet. They are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Very good for a healthier-than-most muffin. This is a very forgiving recipe and can be adapted to what you have on hand. I Followed others advice and used applesauce (1 cup) instead of oil and apple butter. Threw in a few tablespoons each of almond meal, coconut flour, flaxseed and chia instead of the whole wheat flour. Instead of raisins, I had a dried fruit mix of raisins, craisin, dried goji berries, and cherries - plumped them up in a little hot water for a few minutes before adding them. I had pecans instead of walnuts and I just put them in the batter. Would not have minded having a few more tablespoons of them for added crunch. Used coconut sugar (1 cup) and brown sugar (1/4 cup) but could probably cut back to 1 cup sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe! I actually had some homemade pumpkin butter in my refrigerator and it worked perfectly in place of the apple butter. The batter was definitely thick, but the grated fruit / veggies gave it the moisture it needed. My husband, 16 year old son, and 14 month old all enjoyed these. I subbed dried cherries for raisins. I also mixed the wheat germ and walnuts into the batter instead of sprinkling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
everyone loved this muffin. I also added shredded coconut and hash oil for medicated muffins. I think it's best with apple butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
These are absolutely wonderful! All the peeling and shredding is a lot of work but worth it to me. Luckily, my food processor helps with the shredding. I cut the sugar back to a little over 3/4 c and found them to still be extremely sweet. I will cut it back to 1/2 c next time, as I prefer more of the grainy taste. I used 1 c wheat flour and 1 c white and added 3 tbs of flaxseed meal to the batter. They are just so flavorful and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States