Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I gave this four stars because I felt there was too much cinnamon, but I am not a huge cinnamon lover. Next time I will reduce to 1 teaspoon cinnamon. I felt they were a bit sweet, even after I reduced the sugar to just one cup. I might try a combination of white and brown sugar or even honey next time. Overall, a very good and healthy muffin. I'll be making this again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Tasty- but very, very sweet. The tops become pretty sticky, so don't forget to sprinkle the wheat germ (or something similar) on top to prevent the stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kingston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made some incredibly delicious muffins based on this recipe, but did do quite a few tweaks. As others have said there is way too much sugar--I reduced it to 1 cup and could definitely stand to reduce it more. I didn't have wheat germ but I used wheat bran and just put it in the batter along with the walnuts. Instead of apple butter I finely grated one apple and added that (with juice) to the batter, and used about 1/4 cup melted coconut oil as well. I just used 2 whole eggs instead of 1 egg and 2 whites and 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup white flour. I also added a little nutmeg, upped the cinnamon, and left out the raisins. I only have a 12 muffin tin so mine were quite large. Will definitely be making them again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I love these! I make them as written, although I confess I add a little brown sugar to the wheat germ/walnut topping to make it more of a strudel topping. It's a perfect little sweet treat for breakfast that makes you feel good about your choices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLTmom
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I also modified a little. I DID use apple butter but left out the chunks of apple. I also used Splenda instead of sugar. These turned out great! I put mine in for 15 minutes and they didn't seem cooked enough so I left them in for another 3. When I make them again a think I will just shut off the heat at 15 and let them continue to cook for a couple more minutes only. They were a tad on the dry side. Great muffin if you like a raisin carrot cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
These are the best muffins I've ever made. Used a food processor for the carrots to save on time, added walnuts in the batter instead of just on top, omitted the raisins, but followed the recipe other than that. Everyone at work was asking for the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
These are AWESOME. Probably the best carrot muffins I'm ever had, and one of the best things I've put in my mouth. The batter is thick, and the muffins themselves are chock full of taste and fun mouth-feel. I made mini-muffins and still cooked them for 13 mins. I made them for the guys at work at they disappeared. Not bad for a shop of metal fabricators- especially for something so low in fat. I added the nuts to the mixture. I topped with the wheat germ+some strudel topping I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwayneNAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Awesome! These turned out really well and were super easy. I used 1 c. honey instead of sugar, 1 c. apple-sauce (unsweetened). I didn't use any apple butter or oil. I don't have a food processor so I just threw 2 cups of carrots with the apple sauce into the blender to speed it up. Took 15 min to prepare and 25 to bake. I will freeze half, and next time, add some protein powder and/or flax seed to make them even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
All I could say is AMAZING!! My daughter & hubby loved them. I didn't have wheat germ so I used almonds and walnuts finely chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sturgeon Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States