Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I just took this recipe out of the oven 15 minutes ago and these muffins are fantastic. I did not have raisins so I used an equal amount of Craisins. I had to omit the nuts due to a nut allergy, I used 1 tablespoon sugar and 2 tablespoons toasted wheat germ for the topping. The cupcakes are moist and very flavorful. I will be using variations of this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by csquid361
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I made these muffins this morning and my fiance and I loved them. I used only white flour, applesauce instead of Apple butter and didn't use the topping. They came out super moist and smelled wonderfully like cinnamon. I made 12 muffins and 3 mini loaves since I couldn't find my other muffin pan. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I just made these. Very yummy. I didn't have apple butter, so I substituted 1/2 peanut butter 1/2 regular butter. I added extra cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves to spice it up a bit, and I doubled the apples. Turned out just great. For winging it! Recipie made 2 dz regular sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
These are delicious. I didn't do vegetable oil, I did an entire cup of applesauce. No apple butter. I also mashed up a whole rip banana. Didn't have walnuts and crushed almonds. I also didn't do sugar and just used some Agave. Soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyrica01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This recipie has little flavor and is missing a lot. The traditional Morning Glory muffins also have crushed pineapple and shredded coconut. Pecans instead of walnuts. Not one I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I reduced the sugar and served these for DESSERT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I love the adaptability of it, for instance, I did not have any apples on hand, but chopped up 1 cup overripe strawberries, 1/2 an orange, then added 3/4c blueberries, then the grated carrots. I also added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp of cloves, 1/2 tsp of ginger for additional spice. I used more wheat flour than white flour (I just reversed the measurements). I only used 1 cup of sugar and applesauce instead of apple butter. For the topping, I did not have wheat germ, but ground flaxseed, so I mixed flaxseed w/cinnamon and smidge of brown sugar w/the chopped walnuts! My three kids each ate 3 of these! I think next time, I will incorporate chia seeds for some added protein into the mix. Thanks for a great start to our hectic morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have made these numerous times. I do change up the recipe a bit. I use half white and half whole wheat flour. I cut the sugar back to just 1 cup and again use half white and half brown sugar. I do like the apple butter in the recipe. Sometimes when I have applesauce in my fridge, I will replace that for the 1/4 cup of oil. Also, depending on what I have on hand, I sometimes replace the toasted wheat germ with milled flax seed. These are a great breakfast muffin and I always double the recipe. They freeze so well and I can pull out as many as needed and just let thaw. I recommend that you try these. I can almost guarantee that you will like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This recipe is easy and fast. I did not have apple sauce nor apple butter so I used strawberry butter. Instead of whole weat flour, I used rolled oat and cranberries to substitute the raisins. They were awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I used two whole eggs instead of the egg and egg whites. What a hit! The 4yo wanted to eat the batter without baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States