Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 24)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Many changes to make healthier. Awesome flavor. Some, who do not eat low fat baked goods, may think the texture slightly gummy, but we enjoyed a lot! 1/2 whole wheat/1/2 regular flour. Subbed apple butter w/sweet potato (didn't have). Subbed all oil w/applesauce. Subbed half of sugar w/agave nectar (decrease to 2/3 of sugar amt in recipe). Only half the raisins because I ran out. Seemed like plenty though. Think you can mess around w/this recipe in several ways w/out screwing up too badly. Delicious and pretty healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I can't tell you how many, many times i've made this muffin! Each time, a bit different, sometimes adding in flax seeds for crunch, fresh blueberries when in season, sometimes grated zucchini, extra carrots, with apple, without. I'm telling you, nomatter how you tweak this recipe, it STILL ENDS UP FABULOUS!! How is that possible?! lol. Also, for healthier options, you really can cut the sugar in half and add in a bit of honey; as well as using all whole wheat flour instead of white flour and it turns out just as good just a bit heavier (which I don't mind!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuriouslyChaotic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
These are awesome! I used 2 whole eggs instead of whites, all white flour, and apple sauce instead of apple butter. I also omitted the wheat germ and walnuts, so this is highly adaptable to your own tastes and what you have on hand. The outcome is such a delicious treat, moist, sweet, and I love knowing there is healthy stuff in there! It was worth the effort of shredding the carrots and apples (I shredded the apples instead of dicing as my children are not fond of chuncks they can identify as healthy things!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conansgirl1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Fantastic muffins!!!! I used 1/2 wheat, 1/2 white flour, omitted raisons and mixed 1c walnuts in instead, used 2 whole eggs instead, added 3tb of flax seed, and added a bit of brown sugar to wheat germ for topping instead of walnuts. So good! my whold family gobbled them, even my husband who usually is weird about "healthy" ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hubred Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
With applesauce, no oil, 1 c whole wheat and 1 c white flour, 2 eggs and 1 egg white, and reduced sugar slightly - these are good! I think the walnuts add a lot. I wouldn't give them 5 stars, but especially for a healthy treat, nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
MY HUSBAND RAVES ABOUT THESE!! He calls them his Muffins of Destruction and has shared them with all the guys at work and apparently I'm a little famous for my muffins. Healthy, rounded, and delicious! I make the recipe just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Okay, so I don't like to rate things when I change the recipe but I did do things just a smidgen different. I didn't have wheat germ I skipped it, but since it's so healthy I will add it next time. I didn't have apple butter so I skipped the oil and did apple sauce 3/4 cup. And, I only had a granny smith apple, that seemed to tart to me so I added a peach instead. I also added 3 whole eggs, which is less healthy, but I can't stand to waste good food. Because the peach is wetter I needed the full 20 minutes to bake. For healthy muffins these sure are good. So very good! Yummy, good! I will make these again, following exact next time. Doing it just as the recipes calls for could only make it better, as if that's possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
These are delish!! I didn't have any apple butter so I just subsituted unsweetend applesauce. Next time I'd try adding even more applesauce and taking away some of the sugar, and dried cranberries are what we used rather than raisins (those were yummy). This is a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I personally didnt like this recipe but my family did and because it is a generally healthy recipe Im giving it 4 instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
excellent recipe...turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 231-240 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States