Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Substituted the apple butter and butter out by using apple sauce. Used almonds and flax seed to sprinkle on top rather than walnuts and wheat germ. Swapped the sugar amounts (brown and white) and it was too sweet for me. Will cut sugar amounts next time. Hubby loved them and said he would've never guessed that it had no butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Great! Not good as leftovers. Eat on the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I had to make some adjustments due to dietary restrictions and ingredients at hand. I used 1 cup all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour, replaced the apple butter and vegetable oil with 1/3 cup pureed pears, cut sugar to 1 cup, used 2 whole eggs instead of 1 egg and egg whites and omitted the nuts. These were moist and delicious. I will definitely make these again, but will probably use a little less sugar as the fruit made it sweet enough for us. I don't think there is any way to go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is my new favorite muffin!! I love it!! I made a few changes due to other reviews I read. I put 2 cups of all-purpose flour because I had no whole wheat flour. 1 cup sugar instead of 1 1/4 cups, 2 eggs instead of 1 egg and 2 egg whites, 1 cup apple sauce instead of 1/2 cup of apple butter, 1/2 cup walnuts in with the muffin mixture, and oatmeal instead of wheat germ. Baked for 20 mins and they where perfect! So moist and tasty! The mixture I made up seemed at first really dry but I let it sit for a few minutes and it became a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberLynneLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was a great recipe, my husband said "don't loose this one". I changed the sugar to Agave, put in an extra apple and used only wheat flour. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Made these muffins for the first time today. Wow! The family raved over them! Like many reviewers I did substitute applesauce for the apple butter, and I used part Splenda and part sugar, also used 2 whole eggs rather than 1 egg and two egg whites. This is one of those recipes that gives you the opportunity to adjust it your way and it still comes out fabulous! (If you substitute applesauce for the applebutter, it may need to cook a few minutes longer.) Thank you JACLYN for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I used one cup of rice syrup instead of sugar, one cup whole wheat flour, one cup white and a half a cup go soy flour, and applesauce instead of apple butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Deliciously amazing. I modified for less sugar & more protein & allergy needs: unsweetened applesauce and ground cloves instead of apple butter, splenda brown sugar blend to cut the sugar back, almonds instead of walnuts, whole eggs for more protein than just egg whites, oatmeal instead of whole wheat flour, I didn't have wheat germ, so I put steel cut oats on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I made these exactly as written, using all organic ingredients, as I am trying to get my household to go a little more natural and healthy. The amount of sugar really did worry me as I was pouring it in. Now that I have made the recipe, I know to reduce the sugar next time!! I mean the apple butter is pretty sweet/ tart itself. I just think 1 1/4 cup sugar is a little much. Plus you have the sweetness from the chopped up apples and raisins. Overall a good muffin, just would change the amount of sugar. Everything else was great. And oh yea, I bought a bag of carrots that were already shredded so it wasn't a very 'labor intensive' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vababe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
These muffins are our new favorite! They are even better after sitting in tupperware for 1/2 a day. They seem to get moister. I did use 1 c. natural applesauce instead of apple butter, 2 whole eggs instead of 1 egg and 2 egg whites, and about 1 cup sugar. My kids love these! It's like a salad in a muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States