Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I had to make some adjustments due to dietary restrictions and ingredients at hand. I used 1 cup all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour, replaced the apple butter and vegetable oil with 1/3 cup pureed pears, cut sugar to 1 cup, used 2 whole eggs instead of 1 egg and egg whites and omitted the nuts. These were moist and delicious. I will definitely make these again, but will probably use a little less sugar as the fruit made it sweet enough for us. I don't think there is any way to go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is my new favorite muffin!! I love it!! I made a few changes due to other reviews I read. I put 2 cups of all-purpose flour because I had no whole wheat flour. 1 cup sugar instead of 1 1/4 cups, 2 eggs instead of 1 egg and 2 egg whites, 1 cup apple sauce instead of 1/2 cup of apple butter, 1/2 cup walnuts in with the muffin mixture, and oatmeal instead of wheat germ. Baked for 20 mins and they where perfect! So moist and tasty! The mixture I made up seemed at first really dry but I let it sit for a few minutes and it became a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberLynneLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was a great recipe, my husband said "don't loose this one". I changed the sugar to Agave, put in an extra apple and used only wheat flour. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Made these muffins for the first time today. Wow! The family raved over them! Like many reviewers I did substitute applesauce for the apple butter, and I used part Splenda and part sugar, also used 2 whole eggs rather than 1 egg and two egg whites. This is one of those recipes that gives you the opportunity to adjust it your way and it still comes out fabulous! (If you substitute applesauce for the applebutter, it may need to cook a few minutes longer.) Thank you JACLYN for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I used one cup of rice syrup instead of sugar, one cup whole wheat flour, one cup white and a half a cup go soy flour, and applesauce instead of apple butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Deliciously amazing. I modified for less sugar & more protein & allergy needs: unsweetened applesauce and ground cloves instead of apple butter, splenda brown sugar blend to cut the sugar back, almonds instead of walnuts, whole eggs for more protein than just egg whites, oatmeal instead of whole wheat flour, I didn't have wheat germ, so I put steel cut oats on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I made these exactly as written, using all organic ingredients, as I am trying to get my household to go a little more natural and healthy. The amount of sugar really did worry me as I was pouring it in. Now that I have made the recipe, I know to reduce the sugar next time!! I mean the apple butter is pretty sweet/ tart itself. I just think 1 1/4 cup sugar is a little much. Plus you have the sweetness from the chopped up apples and raisins. Overall a good muffin, just would change the amount of sugar. Everything else was great. And oh yea, I bought a bag of carrots that were already shredded so it wasn't a very 'labor intensive' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vababe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
These muffins are our new favorite! They are even better after sitting in tupperware for 1/2 a day. They seem to get moister. I did use 1 c. natural applesauce instead of apple butter, 2 whole eggs instead of 1 egg and 2 egg whites, and about 1 cup sugar. My kids love these! It's like a salad in a muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Really good and moist! Reminds me of carrot cake but healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
These muffins were very good, but I have to admit that I altered the recipe quite a bit since I didn't have some of the ingredients at hand. I cut the sugar down to almost half, and the muffins were still sweet enough for my taste. Also didn't have apple butter so used buttermilk. Sustituted half the oil with buttermilk. Used dried apricots istead of rasins. Doubled the walnuts. I think this is a really good basic recipe that can be altered to fit taste and the ingredients at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States