Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
These are wonderful! The only thing I did different was the wheat germ, which I don't like. Instead I ground some flax seed and used that. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Just wanted to share my substitution. Instead of apple butter, I mixed in mashed bananas. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Wow Wow!!!! Amazing muffins! Only changes I made, since I didn't have apple butter on hand, I added 1 c. applesauce and didn't add any chopped apples like the recipe called for. Also, added 1-2T. extra of sugar and 1t. extra of cinnamon (to make up for the extra sugar and cinnamon being in apple butter). --For the raisins, I pre-softened them by putting them in a pan with just enough cold water to cover, brought it to a boil, then shut the burner off, and covered with a lid for just a few min. Strain off the water and get as much liquid off the raisins before adding to the dry mixture. I also used a food processor to made the process of grating the carrots quicker (mine was a tiny one, but worked like a charm!). Also, I didn't have wheat germ on hand, so I used flaxseed instead. --Gave one of these muffins to a friend of mine to eat on her way home (got a text before she got home that she LOVED these muffins and HAD to have the recipe!! The muffin was even a day or two old. So, thanks Jaclyn for sharing! **I made these muffins in hopes that I could get my toddler to eat carrots and a bunch of other healthy stuff for him- so far so good :) I will be making these again and AGAIN. P.S. I'm eating one now that's about 3-4 days old and it's STILL super moist and out of this world! My hubby loves these too*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Yummy recipe! I use apple sauce instead of apple butter and usually just use all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I didn't have butter so I used half margarine and half olive oil. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
If you're looking for something filling but you're calorie conscious these are PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Awesome! I used applesauce instead of apple butter and dried cherries instead of raisins... they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. The muffins were very good....sticky, but good. And sweet enough that perhaps I will cut the sugar down next time and substitue the apple butter and oil for applesauce. You don't really taste the carrot, just the sweetness of the apple and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Delicious and healthy! I used a cup of applesauce instead of apple butter and oil and lowered the sugar to 3/4 of a cup. The cut up apple was a perfect sweetness. I also used flax seed in the batter instead of wheat germ. I'd love to think of a way to incorporate oatmeal in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Followed the directions almost exactly as they were, except I substituted dried cranberries for raisins. The muffins are delicious - moist and very flavorful. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States