Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I use have the sugar and still find them plenty sweet. They are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Very good for a healthier-than-most muffin. This is a very forgiving recipe and can be adapted to what you have on hand. I Followed others advice and used applesauce (1 cup) instead of oil and apple butter. Threw in a few tablespoons each of almond meal, coconut flour, flaxseed and chia instead of the whole wheat flour. Instead of raisins, I had a dried fruit mix of raisins, craisin, dried goji berries, and cherries - plumped them up in a little hot water for a few minutes before adding them. I had pecans instead of walnuts and I just put them in the batter. Would not have minded having a few more tablespoons of them for added crunch. Used coconut sugar (1 cup) and brown sugar (1/4 cup) but could probably cut back to 1 cup sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe! I actually had some homemade pumpkin butter in my refrigerator and it worked perfectly in place of the apple butter. The batter was definitely thick, but the grated fruit / veggies gave it the moisture it needed. My husband, 16 year old son, and 14 month old all enjoyed these. I subbed dried cherries for raisins. I also mixed the wheat germ and walnuts into the batter instead of sprinkling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
everyone loved this muffin. I also added shredded coconut and hash oil for medicated muffins. I think it's best with apple butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
These are absolutely wonderful! All the peeling and shredding is a lot of work but worth it to me. Luckily, my food processor helps with the shredding. I cut the sugar back to a little over 3/4 c and found them to still be extremely sweet. I will cut it back to 1/2 c next time, as I prefer more of the grainy taste. I used 1 c wheat flour and 1 c white and added 3 tbs of flaxseed meal to the batter. They are just so flavorful and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
My whole family loved these! The apple in them really made it for them! Thanks so much!!! I will be making these many times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Great muffins!! We all loved them!! Did as other people said, no oil and no apple butter instead used 1 cup applesauce. Used equal parts whole wheat flour and pastry wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
These are awesome! Made with whole wheat white flour, applesauce in place of oil, decreased sugar to 3/4 cup sugarin the raw. I also added 1/2 can of pureed garbanzo beans and a pear with the apple. I added the nuts into the mixture. I left out the raisins but only because I didn't have any. Will make these very often! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Yummy and great to grab for breakfast. I would add more apples, and maybe golden raisens and cranberriers too. I like all the goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Delicious. I substituted 1 1/4 cups flour and 1 cup oatmeal for the white and whole wheat flour. I also used 1 1/2 apples and 1 cup of applesauce instead of the apple butter and oil. Instead of raisins I used 1/2 cup of cranberries. For the eggs I used 2 whole eggs. I kept everything else the same and didn't do the crumble on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States