Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe. I was just under impressed after all the good reviews and I didn't even make any changes to the recipe like some do. My family didn't like them and said they wished I had just made zucchini muffins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I did not use the apple butter as I do not have any. I substituted in 1/3 cup of oil instead as that was what I had, this was in addition to what was already called for in the recipe. I also added an extra half an apple since I skipped the apple butter. I did not cube my apples, I shredded them as I prefer them that way in this type of muffin. Also, I upped the amount of walnuts and I am so glad I did. The recipe definitely does not call for enough if you enjoy walnuts. Wonderful flavor will be putting this into our rotation. I made mine into mini-bread loaves and cooked about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
These were really good! Like others suggested I subbed 1cup unsweetened applesauce for the Apple butter and oil. I used whole wheat flour instead of white. I also used craisins instead of raisins. Next time I will probably use a little less sugar as they were really sweet. I left off the nuts and wheat germ because we didn't have any. It didn't make a bit of difference! Both my kids are very picky eaters (4 and 1) and they loved them, and I didn't feel awful letting them have one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I use have the sugar and still find them plenty sweet. They are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Very good for a healthier-than-most muffin. This is a very forgiving recipe and can be adapted to what you have on hand. I Followed others advice and used applesauce (1 cup) instead of oil and apple butter. Threw in a few tablespoons each of almond meal, coconut flour, flaxseed and chia instead of the whole wheat flour. Instead of raisins, I had a dried fruit mix of raisins, craisin, dried goji berries, and cherries - plumped them up in a little hot water for a few minutes before adding them. I had pecans instead of walnuts and I just put them in the batter. Would not have minded having a few more tablespoons of them for added crunch. Used coconut sugar (1 cup) and brown sugar (1/4 cup) but could probably cut back to 1 cup sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe! I actually had some homemade pumpkin butter in my refrigerator and it worked perfectly in place of the apple butter. The batter was definitely thick, but the grated fruit / veggies gave it the moisture it needed. My husband, 16 year old son, and 14 month old all enjoyed these. I subbed dried cherries for raisins. I also mixed the wheat germ and walnuts into the batter instead of sprinkling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
everyone loved this muffin. I also added shredded coconut and hash oil for medicated muffins. I think it's best with apple butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
These are absolutely wonderful! All the peeling and shredding is a lot of work but worth it to me. Luckily, my food processor helps with the shredding. I cut the sugar back to a little over 3/4 c and found them to still be extremely sweet. I will cut it back to 1/2 c next time, as I prefer more of the grainy taste. I used 1 c wheat flour and 1 c white and added 3 tbs of flaxseed meal to the batter. They are just so flavorful and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
My whole family loved these! The apple in them really made it for them! Thanks so much!!! I will be making these many times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Great muffins!! We all loved them!! Did as other people said, no oil and no apple butter instead used 1 cup applesauce. Used equal parts whole wheat flour and pastry wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States