Mormon Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Fabulous! I thin sliced the potatoes first then parboiled or around 10 minutes until the potatoes were beginning to soften but could still be handled for layering. Use green chili dip instead of sour cream! Takes about an hour to cook. YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I have made these potatoes twice now and they are a HIT! The only thing that I did differently was substituted Panko breadcrumbs for corn flakes (didn't have any), and the second time I adjusted the ingredients to make a smaller pan (there are only 2 of us here). I would suggest, as some of the others have, cutting the potatoes as thin as you can to make sure that get cooked all the way through...overall 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Baughns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've made this several times and have found the addition of a layer of sauteed onions takes this to a different, delicious level. I usually put the onions on the bottom, just after the first layer of potatoes. Also, I have tried this with every sort of cheese and if you use Parmesan, it has a bit more of a sophisticated flavor. To make it vegetarian friendly, I use cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Wonderful! Easy to make and so delicious ! Even better the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Shaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These are delicious!! I cut my potatoes about 1/4" & then cut them in half, like a half moon shape. Skipped the cornflake topping, as a personal pref. LOVE them!! Thanks, Kitchen Witch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
BEST. SCALLOPED. POTATOES. EVER. I used a Mac 'n Cheese Blend instead of the Cheddar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eyeluv2katz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My family ate it all up, but the potatoes did not cook all the way. I will add an additional 30 min next time to see if it cooks all the way. Great if you like crunchy potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My whole family really liked this dish. The only thing I would do differently next time would be cut the potatoes thinner. I doubled the cooking time and still thought the potatoes where slightly undercooked. With that said, I will definitely be making this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made it twice. As you assemble it, lightly salt and pepper the potatoes. They need it. You could add salt to your cheese mixture but you might over do it. Next year it gets bacon fried and crumbled on the layers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States