Mormon Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very good! The taste was perfect, original and filling. I did follow the advice of the other reviewer and sliced the potatoes much thinner than the one inch thickness that the recipe called for. Turned out to be cooked all the way through and delicious. The only other thing I did different was to have added a little bit more cheese, considering I had some extra (about a cup extra), but it turned out to be nice and cheesy, gooey and delicious. I made this dish to compliment a ham that I had made and it served extremely well. Very good dish! Would definitely make again and in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefTek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! It's a true classic Mormon Utah dish! My whole family loved this recipe...even my 17-month old couldn't get enough of it! I've been looking everywhere for a dish like this that doesn't use fake or frozen potatoes...I wanted real potatoes and this is perfect! I added some salt and pepper to make it taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Really good! I think that I'll cut the potatoes a bit thinner next time. At 1 inch thick, they seemed a bit undercooked. Still tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was amazing! I had only 1 can of cr. chicken and added 1 can of cr. mushroom. Before the cornflake layer I added a thin layer of shredded cheese. Everyone loved it especially the teenagers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Super easy - family loved it! I meant to halve the recipe and accidentally put a full portion of butter in the mix...tried to 'correct' my mistake by being generous with the sour cream and cheese as well...ended up with a very creamy scalloped potatoes which my husband loved! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Very yummy! I cut the potatoes thinner like others suggested but still some of the potatoes were a little firm, so next time I will cook it for an hour instead. I also used 1 can of cream of mushroom instead of a cream of chicken. It turned out great....could hardly get the leftovers to the fridge without eating them myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Very good recipe! I sliced mine to just less than 1/2" thick. (I liked that, but my girls wished they were thinner, yet.) I didn't add the crust. But, both my husband & I agreed that the only thing that would make it better would be a topping...go figure. I did't have hardly any sour cream but had some left over heavy cream so I used that. For a girl that loves sour cream and couldn't use it, you couldn't have told that something was missing. Definately making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Simply delicious! I added 2 cups of cubed ham and it was fantastic! What a wonderful thing to come home to after a long day at work. Kids and hubby loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I altered the recipe so that I could make these a day ahead. First I peeled the potatoes (10 of them),then I put them through the food processor and sliced them into 1/8 inch thick slices. Then I sautéed them in butter (ended up using 3 pans so as not to overcrowd the potatoes each pan had a quarter cup of butter) and I sprinkled them with a little kosher salt. Sauteed them for about 10 minutes until just tender,then I drained the butter out of each pan into a large bowl. To this I added the cream of chicken and the sour cream. Then I folded in 1 bunch of sliced chives and 2 cups shredded cheddar and 1 cup shredded emmenthaler. Then I layered three layers of potatoes,starting with the sauce on the bottom and ending with the sauce on top. I stuck it in the fridge till the next day. Next day melted the 1/4 cup butter and put 3 cups corn flakes in a gallon ziplock bag and crushed them with a marble rolling pin. Poured the melted butter in the bag once the butter cooled a little and mixed it up in the bag. Poured the mixture onto the potatoes. Baked at 350 for 45 min. Half of the time it was covered in foil and the other half of the time it was uncovered. I wish I had put some white pepper in this but I forgot. This was super good but should have cooked even longer since a few of the potatoes were a little underdone. It made a lot of dirty dishes for one side dish but it was very decadent and special and it helped to make it a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States