Mormon Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Really good! I think that I'll cut the potatoes a bit thinner next time. At 1 inch thick, they seemed a bit undercooked. Still tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very good! The taste was perfect, original and filling. I did follow the advice of the other reviewer and sliced the potatoes much thinner than the one inch thickness that the recipe called for. Turned out to be cooked all the way through and delicious. The only other thing I did different was to have added a little bit more cheese, considering I had some extra (about a cup extra), but it turned out to be nice and cheesy, gooey and delicious. I made this dish to compliment a ham that I had made and it served extremely well. Very good dish! Would definitely make again and in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefTek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! It's a true classic Mormon Utah dish! My whole family loved this recipe...even my 17-month old couldn't get enough of it! I've been looking everywhere for a dish like this that doesn't use fake or frozen potatoes...I wanted real potatoes and this is perfect! I added some salt and pepper to make it taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I altered the recipe so that I could make these a day ahead. First I peeled the potatoes (10 of them),then I put them through the food processor and sliced them into 1/8 inch thick slices. Then I sautéed them in butter (ended up using 3 pans so as not to overcrowd the potatoes each pan had a quarter cup of butter) and I sprinkled them with a little kosher salt. Sauteed them for about 10 minutes until just tender,then I drained the butter out of each pan into a large bowl. To this I added the cream of chicken and the sour cream. Then I folded in 1 bunch of sliced chives and 2 cups shredded cheddar and 1 cup shredded emmenthaler. Then I layered three layers of potatoes,starting with the sauce on the bottom and ending with the sauce on top. I stuck it in the fridge till the next day. Next day melted the 1/4 cup butter and put 3 cups corn flakes in a gallon ziplock bag and crushed them with a marble rolling pin. Poured the melted butter in the bag once the butter cooled a little and mixed it up in the bag. Poured the mixture onto the potatoes. Baked at 350 for 45 min. Half of the time it was covered in foil and the other half of the time it was uncovered. I wish I had put some white pepper in this but I forgot. This was super good but should have cooked even longer since a few of the potatoes were a little underdone. It made a lot of dirty dishes for one side dish but it was very decadent and special and it helped to make it a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These are delicious!! I cut my potatoes about 1/4" & then cut them in half, like a half moon shape. Skipped the cornflake topping, as a personal pref. LOVE them!! Thanks, Kitchen Witch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was amazing! I had only 1 can of cr. chicken and added 1 can of cr. mushroom. Before the cornflake layer I added a thin layer of shredded cheese. Everyone loved it especially the teenagers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Fabulous! I thin sliced the potatoes first then parboiled or around 10 minutes until the potatoes were beginning to soften but could still be handled for layering. Use green chili dip instead of sour cream! Takes about an hour to cook. YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I have made these potatoes twice now and they are a HIT! The only thing that I did differently was substituted Panko breadcrumbs for corn flakes (didn't have any), and the second time I adjusted the ingredients to make a smaller pan (there are only 2 of us here). I would suggest, as some of the others have, cutting the potatoes as thin as you can to make sure that get cooked all the way through...overall 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Baughns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
BEST. SCALLOPED. POTATOES. EVER. I used a Mac 'n Cheese Blend instead of the Cheddar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eyeluv2katz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
If you make the Mormon funeral potatoes, this was just as good, but much easier to make. I used more potatoes and sliced them much thinner. They came out perfectly. They were the hit of the meal. I made a double batch for a big family gathering and that was the only thing that was completely eaten. Everyone raved about them. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States