Morelos Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Update - still make this a couple of times a month and know it will be a hit at my SuperBowl party - thanks again for this true keeper! ... Excellent and authentic! I added a bit of cilantro and a small onion (humoring the backseat cook bf: "salsa w/o onion?!"), and it looked as good as it tasted. Next time I may use serranos, etc. to add some heat, depending on the company. Thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I finally have found the best green salsa. I have tried many and they were never the ones. This is the best I have ever found. Just made it and followed the directions which rarely do, only guidlines. Did add 1/2 small onion and 1/2 bunch of cilantro. Tried it and was great, wife tried it and thought it was the bomb and couldn't stop eating it, even got a slice of bagget out and tried it on that. She said it could use a little sugar, added 1 pinch was good added 1 more pinch and it is a keeper. This will be the only salsa i make from now on. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lomita, California, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This recipe is great for chip dipping as well as for use as a marinade. We used it to marinade chicken breasts and they turned out really juicy and flavorful. It also worked wonders on a pork loin we grilled. I'd suggest soaking the meat over night for full effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I usually make tomatillo salsa with cilantro, but used this recipe because I didn't have any... totally different flavor, I love it! Very sour and spicy! I used 5 tiny hot peppers instead of jalapenos... VERY spicy, not for the faint of heart. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
¡Qué Rico! I had a "cambio de galletas" (cookie exchange) this weekend and made a batch of this as a mojo to have with some chilaquiles. Lovely flavor! I have a lot left over and I am putting it on everything...my vegetables, my meats, etc. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is so easy to make. Hot and spicy! I couldn't resist and added a little onion powder to the mix in the blender. Maybe it would have been milder if I had seeded my large jalapeno first. Thanks for sharing this recipe! 4.5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I love this! So simple and good. I had no cloves so I ommitted. It was still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
yummy! I used a habanero pepper instead of jalapeno, so it was HOT. very good easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
very good salsa. I used 1 lb fresh tomatillos (6 small tomatillos), husked and rinsed, 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded, 3 cloves garlic, peeled, no cloves, dash of cumin, a pinch of rock salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste. did not need to add any chicken bouillon granules. Also, I placed all of these ingredients on a baking sheet along with half of a white onion, rough chopped, roasted them at 400 degrees for 30 minutes until they were real soft. Threw them into a blender, added a bunch of fresh local grown cilantro, pureed them, squeezed half of a lime juice and added more salt if needed. I served this with, "Carne Asada Taco," "Spanish Rice," from this site, and also with beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Added onions and cilantro. Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Almond and Parsley Salsa Verde

See how to prepare a lively, super-versatile fresh salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States