Morel Mushroom Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I did a couple of things differently with this recipe that made this a whole lot easier, didn't affect the taste and just made more sense to me. Rather than use water and chicken soup base I just used chicken broth. I used fresh thyme rather than dried and didn't bother adding the flour - it wasn't necessary. Since my market didn't have morels, I used regular ol' mushrooms and they worked out just fine. I used twice the amount of mushrooms called for and I'm glad I did. Given the extra amount of mushrooms, and the fact there are not a lot of competing seasoning ingredients, this is a pure, robustly mushroom flavored soup. Easy to put together, ready in minutes, and can be made ahead of time. A beautiful first course for an elegant meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I joined just so I could rate this recipe!! It is fantastic. I was just looking for a way to use up some dried morels a friend gave me. They are avid morel hunters and brought me back a pound of them dried. I had no idea what really to do with them and this recipe was my answer, especially since I froze some of this bisque and I can eat it later! The flour is used in making a "roux" to thicken the soup some. It's not really a necessary step, unless you want it thicker. I agree with the poster of the recipe, please people, don't try to make this healthy, it's not meant to be. You could, in theory, but I wouldn't. If you love mushrooms, you will love this recipe. Make sure you salt it to taste though, too much and you'll ruin it, too little and it's bland. But everyone's tastes are different. What I found perfect for saltiness, wasn't salty enough for my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is insanely, incredibly, ridiculously good. I've also made it other mushrooms once my morels were gone, and it tastes heavenly every time. I can't stop at just one bowl...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
If you don't have morels...why bother! One review used regular button mushrooms and wondered why she had to double the amount. Maybe she's never had morels. She doesn't know what she's missing!! This recipe is excellent and those of us from morel territory cherish our morel recipes. Thanks for sharing this fabulous bisque recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clgarman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was a great recipe, and the whole crew loved it! Make no changes, and yes, you really should make the roux (flour, butter, seasonings) as the recipe instructs, otherwise it is not bisque, it is just mushroom soup. Thank you Jennifer F!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbaby

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I did not have heavy cream so I used 1 C half and half and the rest 2% milk. I did everything else the same. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Yummy! I couldn't get morel mushrooms so just got button mushrooms instead. Huge disservice to the recipe, I'm sure, but it still tasted great! If using button mushrooms, I would double the amount of mushrooms next time. Thank you for a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This soup is very good. I held off on the salt because the chicken soup base was very salty. It turned out very well and is easy to make. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
this was perfect as i only had about 1 lb of fresh mushrooms (morel) and this made the steak so good. was easy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very good! I couldn't find morel mushrooms, so I also just used double the amount of regular mushrooms. I added a bit of parmesan cheese to the top and it added a great taste. It's a very rich recipe and I will reserve for special occassions, but it was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States