Moong Dal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
It looks awesome! I'm making it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zozowolfie
Home Town: La Verkin, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
There's one word to describe this dish: PHENOMENAL!!! Thank you, Pyromommy, for a wonderful, tasty and above all, EASY recipe! (I did find it a bit on the mild side for my taste, but that's a plus for the first time one makes any dish, as you can punch it up next go round by increasing the jalapeno to your taste.) Bravo, Pyromommy! And thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLAP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I followed the recipe to a t and my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Great recipe. I actually soaked the moong dal for about 4 hours first, rinsed them and then followed the recipe. Cooking time was more like 40 minutes. I also added sauted onions to the dal and it tasted great! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is the first Indian recipe I've ever made, and I loved it! Seemed pretty easy to make and the leftovers were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This works great with toasted bread or flatbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria S

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
A tasty and interesting dish, but I did have to make a few changes. I used two jalepenos, with seeds. I used a full cup of tomato sauce. I doubled all of the spices, including the ginger and garlic. I soaked the peas for two hours, then cooked them for about 45 min. And I omitted the Asafoetida, the cilantro, and the dried red peppers. After all that, the finished product was delicious! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Loved it!.. My sister in-law made this the last time we were there and I really enjoyed it! Having found the recipe on here, I decided to try to make it too. I was happy with the results! I added about 5 cups water in the pot with the peas. I brought the peas to a boil then turned off the stove to let them soak until I was ready to make. Then I cooked the peas about 45 minutes. I left out the asafoetida after reading reviews. I also substituted finely chopped carrot and onion for the tomatoes which I cooked in margarine along with the spices. I used 1/2 tsp of cayenne for the heat. I forgot the garlic, but it wasn't lacking flavor! I will use it next time. Served over basmati rice along with chicken kebabs and nan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Delicious. The moong dal has a very nice texture and bite to it even after being cooked. Tomatoes and cilantro give the dish a very fresh flavour. Love it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Fantastic. I soaked the lentils for three hours to lessen the cooking time and doubled the spices. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States