Moong Dal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Very good, easy recipe. I omitted the "1 pinch Asafoetida"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
There's one word to describe this dish: PHENOMENAL!!! Thank you, Pyromommy, for a wonderful, tasty and above all, EASY recipe! (I did find it a bit on the mild side for my taste, but that's a plus for the first time one makes any dish, as you can punch it up next go round by increasing the jalapeno to your taste.) Bravo, Pyromommy! And thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLAP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Just FYI - If the dried yellow split peas are round, they're "chana dal". Moong dal is smaller and more oval-shaped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
A little bit of FYI to all. If you're having problems finding 'Asafoetida' in your local or specialty grocery stores.. try Isisbooks.com View their online catalog on the left, and when the page refreshes, scroll to 'Herbs & Herbal Books'. The first page is nothing but books, 'Asafoetida' is on the next page over to your left. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I found the flavor too mild for our tastes, so I added lots more ginger and lemon. I also had to cook the dal much longer than listed to get a nice smooth consistency. I also threw in some lentils that I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Flavour was nice, though mild. But the cooking time is way off. After 40 minutes of cooking, they still weren't done, but I added the other ingredients anyway because I couldn't delay dinner any longer. I'm still cooking them, hoping they'll soften up with a bit more time. I also had to add a lot more water to keep them from drying out. I used moong dal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
The ingredients are correct for dal, but the proportions of spices are way off!! My best friend is from India, and I have been to India. This is not the way Indians cook. For starters, no Indian I know is going to put in half a teaspoon of green chile. Try 6-8 whole chiles! I tripled the ingredients and used 6-8 green chilis in addition to dry red chiles. I couldn't get enough flavor to make this authentic tasting. Will talk to my friend when she gets back from India.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Quite tasty. I couldn't get Asafoetida, so put some onion powder in instead. (I had read that the spice is used as a substitute for onion...I know it isn't a perfect substitute, though.) I put 4 serrano peppers in and it was moderately spicy. Kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I followed the recipe to a t and my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Great recipe. I actually soaked the moong dal for about 4 hours first, rinsed them and then followed the recipe. Cooking time was more like 40 minutes. I also added sauted onions to the dal and it tasted great! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States