Moong Dal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Delicious! I soaked the peas for 4 hours, it still took much longer than recipe called for, at least 45 minutes. I think it is important to use cumin seed as recipe states, rather than ground cumin. I used 2 jalepenos and 4 cloves of garlic. I wish I new what a "pinch" is, but it turned out to be the right amount of hing powder. Tasted great the next day. This was as good as the restaurant near my office. Thanks for saving me some money on takeout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I'd like to chime in about the aesofetida. It is also labeled "Hing" and you can find it in most ethnic stores. My Indian buddies tell me that lots of Indians won't even have the stuff in the house (It's really kind of overwhelming). I don't particularly like it, so, be warned and go easy on it, it stinks to high heaven. Substituting onion powder (with a little garlic powder thrown in) is a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
very good. instead of soaking the moong dal, i used preasure cooker to cook it.then i added it to tomatoes. i let the dal cool down before adding the lemon juice. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kumbakonam, Tamil Nadu, India
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
The garlic is too overwhelming. My house smells bad now. Will not make this ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pima, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Great recipe. I actually soaked the moong dal for about 4 hours first, rinsed them and then followed the recipe. Cooking time was more like 40 minutes. I also added sauted onions to the dal and it tasted great! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I followed the recipe to a t and my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Quite tasty. I couldn't get Asafoetida, so put some onion powder in instead. (I had read that the spice is used as a substitute for onion...I know it isn't a perfect substitute, though.) I put 4 serrano peppers in and it was moderately spicy. Kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
The ingredients are correct for dal, but the proportions of spices are way off!! My best friend is from India, and I have been to India. This is not the way Indians cook. For starters, no Indian I know is going to put in half a teaspoon of green chile. Try 6-8 whole chiles! I tripled the ingredients and used 6-8 green chilis in addition to dry red chiles. I couldn't get enough flavor to make this authentic tasting. Will talk to my friend when she gets back from India.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Flavour was nice, though mild. But the cooking time is way off. After 40 minutes of cooking, they still weren't done, but I added the other ingredients anyway because I couldn't delay dinner any longer. I'm still cooking them, hoping they'll soften up with a bit more time. I also had to add a lot more water to keep them from drying out. I used moong dal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I found the flavor too mild for our tastes, so I added lots more ginger and lemon. I also had to cook the dal much longer than listed to get a nice smooth consistency. I also threw in some lentils that I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States