Moong Dal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I took my cue from the cocmments by Ednicious and viewed it as an "enthusiastic" dahl - and I made it a bit differently but it came out great! I soaked the split yellow peas for a few hours, which both softens them and helps to reduce gassy side-effects for people not used to eating them. For the people who said they take much longer to cook, perhaps they are using a different kind of pea. I found mine in the ethnic food aisle of my supermarket, and it was marked Mung Dal. I sauteed an onion, cubanelle pepper, some carrots, roma tomatoes (all chopped up in my mini food processor) in some olive oil, added some frozen corn kernels, and let them soften. I added a couple of garlic cloves, let them cook a bit, and then added my spices: about a teaspoon of chili powder I had toasted prior, 1 ts of ground ginger (didn't have fresh), 1/2 ts of coriander, 1 ts of cumin, and a couple of bay leaves and some salt. I let that sautee with the veggies a little and added the drained peas (2 cups). Then I added 4 cups of chicken broth and let it cook for 20 minutes while I cooked some jasmine rice. It was super yummy. My point is that you really can make it your own and develop it according to your tastes if you don't have the exact recipe components on hand. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Good simple daal recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
A great basic dahl recipe. It can also be enhanced with all manner of vegetable matter to round out your diet: diced broccoli, sweet corn kernels, red/green/yellow bell pepper, chopped fennel, plus more. We call it the enthusiastic dahl--because we can put everything we've got into it. Adding garam masala towards the end of cooking increases flavour without heat. Lightly toasting dry chilli powder at the start in oil likewise increases flavour without increasing the heat factor as much as adding it later would. Adding a small can of coconut milk during cooking will enrich the flavour for festive occasions and/or provide much-needed fats for (thinner) vegetarians. The dahl can also be garnished with lime juice and tabasco sauce as well as some chopped cilantro. Chapatti fried in butter makes a nice accompaniment and alternative to the basmati rice or brown rice standard. Hing can be stored in a well sealing jar--such as that used for premium instant coffees. Even if you do not drink coffee, it's a small price to pay for a practical solution to the Hing smell issue. N.B. Hing seems to work well with the flavour of cardamom seeds and makes a killer red lentil dahl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
A tasty and interesting dish, but I did have to make a few changes. I used two jalepenos, with seeds. I used a full cup of tomato sauce. I doubled all of the spices, including the ginger and garlic. I soaked the peas for two hours, then cooked them for about 45 min. And I omitted the Asafoetida, the cilantro, and the dried red peppers. After all that, the finished product was delicious! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
After reading all the reviews here, I tried making this with different proportions. I also soaked the moong beans for about 2 hours – and it STILL took well over an hour to cook and continual additions of water. In the end, though, this came out delicious! 2 ½ cups moong beans 2 ½ cups water 1 ½ t salt 1 T grated fresh ginger root 1 diced jalapeno pepper (seeded) 1 cup diced tomatoes Juice of 1 lime ½ T ground turmeric 3 T vegetable oil 1 ½ t cumin seed 1 dried red chile pepper 1 pinch onion/garlic powder 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped ½ cup chopped fresh cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Be prepared! The split peas take a good 45 minutes to 1 hour to cook...not 20 minutes!! And I soaked mine overnight. That said, the flavour was okay, but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
not completely impressed. definitely need to triple (at least) the spices so it has more flavor and make sure you cook the moong dal long enough. not sure i'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This works great with toasted bread or flatbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria S

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is the first Indian recipe I've ever made, and I loved it! Seemed pretty easy to make and the leftovers were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I concur -- this is "Yummy". It helps that I already love Indian food. What I learned from this recipe: - substitutions work well: I used the limes of 4 whole limes (3 TB) not lemon - I did not use asafoejida or anything to substitute for it - I used coconut oil to make this makers-diet-friendly, but it probably added to the flavor, and finally - the one part of this recipe that made this dish more "Indian" in the sense of "like the Indian restaurants I frequent" was adding cumin to the oil. When I did that, it was instantly flavored and scented like I imagines it should be. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States