Moong Dal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
To the tarka I added curry leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I did love this recipe. However, I soaked the beans overnight and they still took more than 35 min to cook. I didn't add tomato but added a little more of the garlic and spices. Turned out very good! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
loved it...made as written. thanks for the post Pyromommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
my husband is indian and im asian so i tend to go online to learn how to cook his food. He love this so much! he said i cook like an indian woman and this has been a staple meal and frequently requested dinner in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I've made this several times now and agree with most reviewers that it is a very good basic recipe. I made it according to the directions the first time and found it a little bland so I added more salt. The next try, I added more of everything, including lemon (which I should've added less). One the third try, I made it according to directions, let the flavors meld overnight, and then added additional seasoning and salt the next day. That seemed to be the best way to do it. I love a bowl of this for lunch with a little pita. Healthy and yummy. My kids like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Just love this recipe. Since I am not vegetarian, I cook some ham with it for flavor (if you add ham, reduce the salt). My family absolutely loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great! Make a big pot and have it for lunch every day I use more cumin and no aesofetida.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I love this recipe, very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe today, I didn't have that weird ingedient so I didn't add it, and truly I used split dry green peas not yellow. I also cooked the peas in the pressure cooker. The thing is I HATE split pea soup and I was trying to find a way to use up some dry split peas I had in my cupboard for a long time, so it's incredible that I liked this. I fried the cumin seeds and a whole dried chili pepper in the oil like the recipe says, but that part was rather wierd. I didn't know if I should crush up the pepper, so I didn't but it became pretty obvious I should have, so I chopped it up while it was cooking with a pair of scissors. I'm not sure why they had to be cooked in oil and added at the end. Seems like they could just have been added in. I didn't add any extra water and it was rather thick. The leftover stuff is very thick and I'm thinking it would be a great base in a pita sandwich, just this and maybe some fresh spinach leaves. It's also very filling. Thank you for sharing this recipe and for everyone's reviews, they were very helpful. I did add some garam marsala after eating some without it. Did add a little more flavor. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was because of the frying of the cumin and chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great recipe, the only Dal my kids will eat. Great flavors. I do use the asafoetida but store it in the garage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States