Moonbeams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I love coconut and like to find new recipes to use it in! These were very simple but a little too sweet. Next time, I will take the others' advice and cut down on the honey. I also lightly buttered my hands before rolling them into balls- you guessed it- b/c they were sticky. I also needed to add 1/3 cup more coconut for the rolling (I used shredded b/c it's finer). Before I served them, I refrigerated them to harden a little, as they were quite soft. Still a GOOD recipe that I would use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Too intensely sweet =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Loved the recipe! I substituted 1/2 cup ground flax seed for the wheat germ and added 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made these rolled in four different things; nuts, choc. sprinkles and even had raisins in some. The best was the coconut and I must agree with others about not having the need for that much honey. They were very soft, too soft. I actually thought ice cream could help to firm them up. My kids love cookie dough Blizzards so next time I'll add some choc. chips and stick it in some vanilla. No raw eggs either. Bonus! Still, probably half a cup of honey, you can always add more if needed. The wheat germ was actually yummy too. Go figure. After people would comment how good they were I found it fun telling them what was actually in it and seeing their suprise. Especially the men! Tee hee My mother used to give us wheat germ OIL by the spoonful. Yuck! I can remember some rough mornings at the bus stop. Ug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These were okay... I made them for a kid's holiday gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Pretty good. I reduced the honey to about 1/4 cup and rolled the balls in more dry milk powder. Everyone loved these! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aznsouris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenny27
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Anyone with a child who likes to cook has to make this recipe. My two year old had so much fun making these with me. He could even help roll in the coconut and there is no baking so he helped with the whole process. To top it off they are delicious and addicting and healthy!! What can I say, I just love everything about this recipe....except I prefer using crunchy peanut butter to give them more texture. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisner, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is such an easy and surprisingly tasty treat! My little brother really loved rolling them in chocolate jimmies (we didn't have any coconut!) and my siblings really liked them. I do think that they are a little to sweet, however, and the dough was pretty sticky. If I make them again, I will cut the amount of honey to 1/3 cup to solve both of those problems. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Very tasty, and my 6-year-old could do the whole recipe nearly by herself. She was very proud of the results. The 4H judge at our fair gave only great comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grandin, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
These are great! The addition of the wheat germ to the original recipe I had used years ago is wonderful! The kids had fun making and eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States