Moon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I made this nice, simple recipe mainly because of grandsons,and YES they loved!!,even the mon and dad, and yes even me and dh!!I followed recipe as written and will make many more times I'm sure! I really liked that it was enough to satisfied a sweet tooth and yet wasn't overly rich!Thanks TARYNOO3,and ***** for you----
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I LOVE this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is the same recipe as a dessert I have been making for years called Cream Puff Cake. It is so easy and never fails to be a crowd-pleaser. This is the perfect last minute, what do I make for that function, fall back dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I get compliments every time I make this! From my experience, I would recommend letting your cream cheese and cool whip thaw. Also, take your time and let the crust fully cool. This makes the assembly easy. I did use butter instead of margarine and shaved chocolate rather than syrup. I will continue to perfect this recipe since people will not stop asking me to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Though taste is OK, this is nothing at all like the traditional moon cake except in outside appearance. I prefer using one of the many traditional Chinese fillings, of which there are many types - and all of them better than using instant pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Easy, but kind of processed tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
When the cake came out of the oven, I started to wonder why it was named moon cake. It was interesting to say the least. There were peaks and valleys everywhere. (I think I posted a picture if you're interested in seeing what I mean.) The cake part was almost spongey in texture but the topping was better. I don't think that I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
YUM! Made this exactly as written (using a 13x9) baking dish. It was a little sticky trying to spread the batter in to the pan, but I just coated my hands w/ cooking spray, and that worked perfectly. Super simple to make, yet pretty impressive and VERY tasty! Waaaay quicker than making eclairs/cream puffs, but w/ all the flavor. I will def be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe as written and it is WONDERFUL! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I've never received such a good response with any dessert like I did with this one. I made this cake for 4 guests and it was the topic of conversation for at least 10 minutes!:). Sooooo yummy! Tastes like an eclair. The only thing I would suggest if you make this is to whip the cream cheese first before u add the other ingredients to get out the lumps. (if you use the block of philadelphia)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States