Moon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Oh my goodness, EVERYONE should make this. What a way to impress your friends and family! It's got a great flavor, very gentle and elegant. If you like cream puffs, you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Hi, I got this recipe from my best friend and it is one of my favourites. It is basically a big eclair, or an eclair casserole. I had lost my recipe and looked on All-Recipes and was surprised to find it, but even more surprising was that it didn't get a ton of five star ratings! I use French vanilla instant pudding mix. Make sure the cream cheese is soft before you try to mix with the pudding. I make the pudding and beat the cream cheese separate then add a little cheese to the pudding at a time to make sure it doesn't get lumpy. It is so yummy when done right. Thanks for the recipe again. S.F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
My son requests this recipe instead of birthday cake. The crust is the same type used to make cream puffs. It is not meant to be sweet. If you like cream puffs and eclairs, you'll like moon cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This was excellent! I didn't change a thing. Next time I plan to try chocolate pudding in place of the vanilla, though, just to see how it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
My mother in law made something similar to this and I forgot to ask her for the recipe so I looked online. This recipe is wonderful! It is so easy to make. My husband loves it, and so do the kids. It was a complete hit. I will make it again and again. -Shannon, Missouri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This recipe is delicious...It is certainly a hit with my family. sometimes use a different pudding than vanilla. Like sometimes I may use butterscotch and vanilla, or chocolate and vanilla. They both taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewfieGal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Falls-Windsor, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
so very easy to make. 6 adults ate the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This is a fantasitic recipe. My whole family enjoyed it. I made it for my children's Confirmation, and it was perfect choice, the other reviews helped, especially with the cream cheese. My only thought is to use chocolate Shell ice cream topping, instead of chocolate syrup. Thanks for the recipe, I will keep it handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This was so GOOD! My son and I made it and loved it! The texture was so interesting. I never did figure out why it was called "moon cake", unless it was for the uneveness of the surface...but we will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This was AWESOME! I'm going to use French Vanilla pudding the next time as suggested by a reviewer and also try chocolate pudding. I was concerned when the cake came out of the oven all puffy, but it quickly went down. What an easy way to make a great dessert. Don't use fat free cream cheese because you can't beat the lumps out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States