Moon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Hi, I got this recipe from my best friend and it is one of my favourites. It is basically a big eclair, or an eclair casserole. I had lost my recipe and looked on All-Recipes and was surprised to find it, but even more surprising was that it didn't get a ton of five star ratings! I use French vanilla instant pudding mix. Make sure the cream cheese is soft before you try to mix with the pudding. I make the pudding and beat the cream cheese separate then add a little cheese to the pudding at a time to make sure it doesn't get lumpy. It is so yummy when done right. Thanks for the recipe again. S.F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Absolutely spectacular. The crust is basically a cream puff pastry recipe. To save work with this, just get the Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Sheets, place one in the bottom of the pan and bake according to directions. It's perfect and doesn't get soggy. As others have stated, I have used french vanilla and white chocolate pudding mix. Any flavor that strikes your family's fancy will do. My toddler grandkids dive in and honestly are wearing it by the time they are done! You have got to give it a try. UPDATE: I had friends for dinner and wanted serving dessert as simple as possible. I bought Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Cups, baked according to box directions. Filled with the pudding mixture, topped with the whip cream and drizzled the chocolate over all. Absolutely beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I wish I could give it more stars! Made for a dinner party last night and 9 people ate the whole thing. I did add 1 pouch of vanilla sugar to base/choux pastry, used fat free cream cheese and skim milk for pudding mixture, whipped 2 cups of whipping cream with 1 pouch of vanilla sugar for cool whip (I don't like cool whip) and used 1 can of Hersheys chocolate syrup to cover the top, didn't do fancy pattern! Found the pan really slippery and hard to put dough into, next time won't grease, used fingers to smoosh down. Made it last night for church potluck, first dessert to go and everyone wanted the recipe! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I followed other reviewers advice and whipped the cr. cheese,then gradually added the milk and finally mixed in the pudding mix which minimized lumps. Made this for a large gathering and everyone enjoyed it. Rich but not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
My mother in law made something similar to this and I forgot to ask her for the recipe so I looked online. This recipe is wonderful! It is so easy to make. My husband loves it, and so do the kids. It was a complete hit. I will make it again and again. -Shannon, Missouri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This cake is amazing. It's sooo creamy and mouth watering. The problem is, is you don't want to eat just one piece. Whenever this is made for events it is a huge hit! Everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. Here is a tip: When you are making the puffy pastry layer, after you have mixed in the flour, turn off the burner and let it cool for 10-15 minutes; then wisk in the eggs one at a time. If you leave your stove top on it will make it dry and doughy. The texture of the puffy pastry layer will be a thick stretchy liquid. IT SHOULD NOT BE DOUGHY AFTER EGGS ARE ADDED. Pour on very greased cookie sheet and spread with spoon. After baked, it will be poofy and ridges; similar to german pancakes. This recipe is sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I love t h is recipe. I have made it with all different kinds of pudding.. today i think i might try pumpkin pudding for the fall. Last week I made it with the Chocolate fudge pudding and mixed heath bits into the pudding and also topped with them.. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SusanBudy
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Made this, posted a picture of it. Pure delectable deliciousness!! An inside out, upside down eclair/cream puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanBudy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Oh my goodness, EVERYONE should make this. What a way to impress your friends and family! It's got a great flavor, very gentle and elegant. If you like cream puffs, you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Great recipe! Very easy to make and it tastes gourmet. I made the mistake of not using the mixer on my cream cheese before adding it to the pudding and it was a little lumpy. Best served very cold. It was a big hit at our Christmas party. Lisa Yates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States