Moon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed this. Tastes like a cream puff, and much simpler to make. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I brought it into the office, and everyone loved it!! You could make any pudding with this. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Point Of Rocks, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I made this for my hubby's birthday. He loved it. I think that frozen whipped topping (in Oz we don't have this) must be cream, so I used fresh cream and I also crumbled a dark choc flake over the top instead of topping. Was delicious! Definately do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I wish I could give it more stars! Made for a dinner party last night and 9 people ate the whole thing. I did add 1 pouch of vanilla sugar to base/choux pastry, used fat free cream cheese and skim milk for pudding mixture, whipped 2 cups of whipping cream with 1 pouch of vanilla sugar for cool whip (I don't like cool whip) and used 1 can of Hersheys chocolate syrup to cover the top, didn't do fancy pattern! Found the pan really slippery and hard to put dough into, next time won't grease, used fingers to smoosh down. Made it last night for church potluck, first dessert to go and everyone wanted the recipe! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This was AWESOME! I'm going to use French Vanilla pudding the next time as suggested by a reviewer and also try chocolate pudding. I was concerned when the cake came out of the oven all puffy, but it quickly went down. What an easy way to make a great dessert. Don't use fat free cream cheese because you can't beat the lumps out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
We did not enjoy this at all. The cake was like a dutch baby without the sugar. The pudding mixture was the only thing we enjoyed because of a few modifications and that is why I gave this three stars instead of one. This desert is not consistent and the toping doesn't compliment the cake well. Okay so the three stars goes to the awesome toping which is very much like a mousse. I made this again tonight using chocolate pudding and cream cheese. If you let the cream cheese sit before whipping it will not clump. Its worth it for the top, but the cake part sucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Belgium
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I followed other reviewers advice and whipped the cr. cheese,then gradually added the milk and finally mixed in the pudding mix which minimized lumps. Made this for a large gathering and everyone enjoyed it. Rich but not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This was so GOOD! My son and I made it and loved it! The texture was so interesting. I never did figure out why it was called "moon cake", unless it was for the uneveness of the surface...but we will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This is a fantasitic recipe. My whole family enjoyed it. I made it for my children's Confirmation, and it was perfect choice, the other reviews helped, especially with the cream cheese. My only thought is to use chocolate Shell ice cream topping, instead of chocolate syrup. Thanks for the recipe, I will keep it handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
so very easy to make. 6 adults ate the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States