Moon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SusanBudy
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Made this, posted a picture of it. Pure delectable deliciousness!! An inside out, upside down eclair/cream puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanBudy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This cake is amazing. It's sooo creamy and mouth watering. The problem is, is you don't want to eat just one piece. Whenever this is made for events it is a huge hit! Everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. Here is a tip: When you are making the puffy pastry layer, after you have mixed in the flour, turn off the burner and let it cool for 10-15 minutes; then wisk in the eggs one at a time. If you leave your stove top on it will make it dry and doughy. The texture of the puffy pastry layer will be a thick stretchy liquid. IT SHOULD NOT BE DOUGHY AFTER EGGS ARE ADDED. Pour on very greased cookie sheet and spread with spoon. After baked, it will be poofy and ridges; similar to german pancakes. This recipe is sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I love t h is recipe. I have made it with all different kinds of pudding.. today i think i might try pumpkin pudding for the fall. Last week I made it with the Chocolate fudge pudding and mixed heath bits into the pudding and also topped with them.. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Was tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Absolutely spectacular. The crust is basically a cream puff pastry recipe. To save work with this, just get the Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Sheets, place one in the bottom of the pan and bake according to directions. It's perfect and doesn't get soggy. As others have stated, I have used french vanilla and white chocolate pudding mix. Any flavor that strikes your family's fancy will do. My toddler grandkids dive in and honestly are wearing it by the time they are done! You have got to give it a try. UPDATE: I had friends for dinner and wanted serving dessert as simple as possible. I bought Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Cups, baked according to box directions. Filled with the pudding mixture, topped with the whip cream and drizzled the chocolate over all. Absolutely beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
wonderful dessert...........tastes just like cream puffs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
absolutely incredible!!! i love it, i add a little pumpkin spice to the dough and it is amazing! my family cannot get enough, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My husband declared that this is his new favorite dessert. He said that it had all the elements of perfection, texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroliney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This cake is absolutely AMAZING! First of all is is light and airy; two of my favorite things, but somehow still has a rich effect. Truely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by green girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I was happily surprised to find this recipe online. I invited my parents over supper to celebrate my mom's birthday and asked her what she wanted for her birthday desert she said moon cake. I remembered eating it as a kid and loved it. Thanks TARYN003 for submitting and I'm sure my mom would like to thank you too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States