Moon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This cake is amazing. It's sooo creamy and mouth watering. The problem is, is you don't want to eat just one piece. Whenever this is made for events it is a huge hit! Everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. Here is a tip: When you are making the puffy pastry layer, after you have mixed in the flour, turn off the burner and let it cool for 10-15 minutes; then wisk in the eggs one at a time. If you leave your stove top on it will make it dry and doughy. The texture of the puffy pastry layer will be a thick stretchy liquid. IT SHOULD NOT BE DOUGHY AFTER EGGS ARE ADDED. Pour on very greased cookie sheet and spread with spoon. After baked, it will be poofy and ridges; similar to german pancakes. This recipe is sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I love t h is recipe. I have made it with all different kinds of pudding.. today i think i might try pumpkin pudding for the fall. Last week I made it with the Chocolate fudge pudding and mixed heath bits into the pudding and also topped with them.. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Was tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Absolutely spectacular. The crust is basically a cream puff pastry recipe. To save work with this, just get the Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Sheets, place one in the bottom of the pan and bake according to directions. It's perfect and doesn't get soggy. As others have stated, I have used french vanilla and white chocolate pudding mix. Any flavor that strikes your family's fancy will do. My toddler grandkids dive in and honestly are wearing it by the time they are done! You have got to give it a try. UPDATE: I had friends for dinner and wanted serving dessert as simple as possible. I bought Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Cups, baked according to box directions. Filled with the pudding mixture, topped with the whip cream and drizzled the chocolate over all. Absolutely beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
wonderful dessert...........tastes just like cream puffs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
absolutely incredible!!! i love it, i add a little pumpkin spice to the dough and it is amazing! my family cannot get enough, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My husband declared that this is his new favorite dessert. He said that it had all the elements of perfection, texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroliney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This cake is absolutely AMAZING! First of all is is light and airy; two of my favorite things, but somehow still has a rich effect. Truely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by green girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I was happily surprised to find this recipe online. I invited my parents over supper to celebrate my mom's birthday and asked her what she wanted for her birthday desert she said moon cake. I remembered eating it as a kid and loved it. Thanks TARYN003 for submitting and I'm sure my mom would like to thank you too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I was really disappointed with this recipe.. the cake tasted like eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcela09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States