Moon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I LOVE this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is the same recipe as a dessert I have been making for years called Cream Puff Cake. It is so easy and never fails to be a crowd-pleaser. This is the perfect last minute, what do I make for that function, fall back dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I get compliments every time I make this! From my experience, I would recommend letting your cream cheese and cool whip thaw. Also, take your time and let the crust fully cool. This makes the assembly easy. I did use butter instead of margarine and shaved chocolate rather than syrup. I will continue to perfect this recipe since people will not stop asking me to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Though taste is OK, this is nothing at all like the traditional moon cake except in outside appearance. I prefer using one of the many traditional Chinese fillings, of which there are many types - and all of them better than using instant pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Easy, but kind of processed tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
When the cake came out of the oven, I started to wonder why it was named moon cake. It was interesting to say the least. There were peaks and valleys everywhere. (I think I posted a picture if you're interested in seeing what I mean.) The cake part was almost spongey in texture but the topping was better. I don't think that I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
YUM! Made this exactly as written (using a 13x9) baking dish. It was a little sticky trying to spread the batter in to the pan, but I just coated my hands w/ cooking spray, and that worked perfectly. Super simple to make, yet pretty impressive and VERY tasty! Waaaay quicker than making eclairs/cream puffs, but w/ all the flavor. I will def be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe as written and it is WONDERFUL! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I've never received such a good response with any dessert like I did with this one. I made this cake for 4 guests and it was the topic of conversation for at least 10 minutes!:). Sooooo yummy! Tastes like an eclair. The only thing I would suggest if you make this is to whip the cream cheese first before u add the other ingredients to get out the lumps. (if you use the block of philadelphia)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SusanBudy
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Made this, posted a picture of it. Pure delectable deliciousness!! An inside out, upside down eclair/cream puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanBudy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States