Moo Goo Gai Pan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Awesome Chines recipe for first timers! I was trying Chinese food out for a themed family movie night (The Joy Luck Club) except for I had to make it for 6, so I made like 5 batches and mixed it all together, but now we have leftovers! I loved how it had the sweet and salty taste, but I did cut out the oyster sauce and rice wine entirely. Partially cuz we didn't have it at the time. And since I had to cook for 6, I used 3 packages of button mushrooms, 3 crowns of broccoli, and cut out the straw mushrooms. Then I added 3 stalks of celery, a whole yellow onion, a red bell pepper, and a can of baby corn. Just for a little healthier option. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I added ginger, a sliced carrot, a bit of bok choy and doubled the sauce. Love this recipe! I'll try it with shrimp next. I steamed the broccoli and carrot a couple minutes in the microwave then added it in last with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I was disappointed with the lack of flavor and miserly amount of sauce (wish I had read the reviews before running to the store for ingredients because I would have doubled the sauce and known not to bother with Rice Wine Vinegar)...but not bad when I added more soy sauce over the top of it all. I used fresh mushrooms, fresh matchstick-cut carrots, fresh onion, fresh broccoli, canned bamboo shoots and canned water chestnuts and was very pleased with those results. Oh, and I also used chicken thighs because I love their juicy-ness. Will probably make this again with double the sauce and using more soy sauce in place of the rice wine, which was not at my WalMart. I might try the recommendation of rolling the chicken in cornstarch first - have had good results with that in another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Good to the last bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've never eaten this or made this before. It was easy to prepare and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Perfect I made double that amount of sauce. One of our faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Othello, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
It was very good - but I "velveted" the chicken which made it most excellent. Most Chinese restaurants use this technique for their Moo-Goo's & other meat dishes. 1 Egg white & 1 TBsp corn starch mixed into a slurry. Add meat and refrigerate 1/2 hour - then cook as instructed. This will give you the restaurant quality you want. It tenderizes the meat and gives added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
It was good, but not great. Needed more sauce and was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I love fast, easy delicious Asian dishes that please my whole family and this one hit the mark big time! I doubled the sauce - in fact then I doubled the whole recipe to make sure it would be enough (2x all plus 4x the sauce). Glad I did because we will be fighting for leftovers tomorrow! Loved the mushrooms, glad I was generous with the broccoli, and really just followed the recipe as written re: the sauce. It's delicious! Rice wine is just Sake, and a bottle costs a few bucks, but lasts a long time in the fridge and can be used for so many Asian dishes. This is definitely going into the family rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I doubled the sauce as I think I ended up with more veggies and chicken as the recipe called for. Easy dish to prepare that tastes like what you would expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Katsu

A Japanese style pan-fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States