Moo Goo Gai Pan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
The only change I made was adding shrimp instead of chicken. This is one of my husband's favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've never eaten this or made this before. It was easy to prepare and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Perfect I made double that amount of sauce. One of our faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Othello, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
It was very good - but I "velveted" the chicken which made it most excellent. Most Chinese restaurants use this technique for their Moo-Goo's & other meat dishes. 1 Egg white & 1 TBsp corn starch mixed into a slurry. Add meat and refrigerate 1/2 hour - then cook as instructed. This will give you the restaurant quality you want. It tenderizes the meat and gives added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
It was good, but not great. Needed more sauce and was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I love fast, easy delicious Asian dishes that please my whole family and this one hit the mark big time! I doubled the sauce - in fact then I doubled the whole recipe to make sure it would be enough (2x all plus 4x the sauce). Glad I did because we will be fighting for leftovers tomorrow! Loved the mushrooms, glad I was generous with the broccoli, and really just followed the recipe as written re: the sauce. It's delicious! Rice wine is just Sake, and a bottle costs a few bucks, but lasts a long time in the fridge and can be used for so many Asian dishes. This is definitely going into the family rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I doubled the sauce as I think I ended up with more veggies and chicken as the recipe called for. Easy dish to prepare that tastes like what you would expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This is exactly what Moo Goo Gai Pan is supposed to taste like. It's not meant to be spicy but that's probably what's "lacking" for some of us. I didn't have water chestnuts so I peeled and sliced broccoli stems instead. That added the crunch and I did add some heat but only AFTER tasting the original recipe. I liked both so I'm happy. Thanks Deven. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was really good. I skipped all of the canned ingredients and subbed fresh carrots, onion, and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
really good! I substituted the mushrooms for carrots and added snow peas and zucchini. I cooked the broccoli and carrots 1st since they take longer to cook. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States