Moo Goo Gai Pan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Awesome Chines recipe for first timers! I was trying Chinese food out for a themed family movie night (The Joy Luck Club) except for I had to make it for 6, so I made like 5 batches and mixed it all together, but now we have leftovers! I loved how it had the sweet and salty taste, but I did cut out the oyster sauce and rice wine entirely. Partially cuz we didn't have it at the time. And since I had to cook for 6, I used 3 packages of button mushrooms, 3 crowns of broccoli, and cut out the straw mushrooms. Then I added 3 stalks of celery, a whole yellow onion, a red bell pepper, and a can of baby corn. Just for a little healthier option. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I added ginger, a sliced carrot, a bit of bok choy and doubled the sauce. Love this recipe! I'll try it with shrimp next. I steamed the broccoli and carrot a couple minutes in the microwave then added it in last with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I was disappointed with the lack of flavor and miserly amount of sauce (wish I had read the reviews before running to the store for ingredients because I would have doubled the sauce and known not to bother with Rice Wine Vinegar)...but not bad when I added more soy sauce over the top of it all. I used fresh mushrooms, fresh matchstick-cut carrots, fresh onion, fresh broccoli, canned bamboo shoots and canned water chestnuts and was very pleased with those results. Oh, and I also used chicken thighs because I love their juicy-ness. Will probably make this again with double the sauce and using more soy sauce in place of the rice wine, which was not at my WalMart. I might try the recommendation of rolling the chicken in cornstarch first - have had good results with that in another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Good to the last bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've never eaten this or made this before. It was easy to prepare and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Perfect I made double that amount of sauce. One of our faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Othello, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
It was very good - but I "velveted" the chicken which made it most excellent. Most Chinese restaurants use this technique for their Moo-Goo's & other meat dishes. 1 Egg white & 1 TBsp corn starch mixed into a slurry. Add meat and refrigerate 1/2 hour - then cook as instructed. This will give you the restaurant quality you want. It tenderizes the meat and gives added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
It was good, but not great. Needed more sauce and was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I love fast, easy delicious Asian dishes that please my whole family and this one hit the mark big time! I doubled the sauce - in fact then I doubled the whole recipe to make sure it would be enough (2x all plus 4x the sauce). Glad I did because we will be fighting for leftovers tomorrow! Loved the mushrooms, glad I was generous with the broccoli, and really just followed the recipe as written re: the sauce. It's delicious! Rice wine is just Sake, and a bottle costs a few bucks, but lasts a long time in the fridge and can be used for so many Asian dishes. This is definitely going into the family rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I doubled the sauce as I think I ended up with more veggies and chicken as the recipe called for. Easy dish to prepare that tastes like what you would expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Katsu

A Japanese style pan-fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States