Moo Goo Gai Pan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This turned out verrrry good, I was scared to be the first to try it but I am glad that I did. My grandma always orders moo goo gai pan when we eat out at chinese, so I wanted to try this recipe out and hopefully surprise her one day! I think she will be happily surprised with this one! I did change the veggies up a little bit to my liking and how it's served at our local chinese place. I added a head of broccoli and a can of stir fry corn. I left out the bok choy and used bamboo shoots in place of the water chestnuts. I used frozen peas and they worked just fine. For the sauce I did use powdered ginger and a little more than 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I had some cooking white wine that I've had forever but it didn't seem to ruin anything. I added about 1 tbls of soy sauce just because, not really sure why. Me and my mom both enjoyed this, will make again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Delicious! I used chicken tenderloins, making it really easy to slice. My grocer was out of snow peas, so I used sugar snap peas instead. Everything else stayed exactly according to recipe, although I doubled it. Such an easy, healthy, and good recipe! Next time I think I will add something to give it some heat like red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by odetobeauty
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Eh, this was all right. For all the work I did, it would've been easier to just call the Chinese food place. The taste was bland, something is missing, I'm not sure what. I had to triple the sauce and after it was plated added some soy sauce, which made it taste better. The plus to this recipe is that you can use whatever veggies you want. I added carrots, broccoli, and bamboo, but didn't use bok choy (didn't have any at the store). Another plus, it is a lot healthier then the take out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odetobeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I did not enjoy this. I had really high hopes as the list of ingredients looked wonderful. The only thing I changed was the veggies. I used carrots and left out bok choy and waterchestnuts. This had absolutely no flavor. I even reread the recipe to make sure I hadnt missed anything. Not sure what went wrong. When I first read the reviews I thought the people who said this had no taste must not have ever had Moo Goo Gai Pan because it is a very mild tasting dish but this is tasteless. oh well! ill keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Great! I think next time I will double or triple the sauce. It tastes very similar to what you buy in chinese restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Delicious! I made it exactly as it was written, but I wish I would have made some rice to eat with it. This is going to be a regular at our house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This tasted bland as written. I ended up adding some soy sauce to give it a kick before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very good dish. I would omit any fish sauce... But great texture and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is soo good! Its light and fresh and quick. Nice when you really don't want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen. throw some rice in the rice cooker and you have a meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I confess to not following the recipe exactly... but I almost never do. I used Napa cabbage instead of bok choy and added celery. Otherwise followed ingredients listed (though not perhaps in the listed amounts) and produced and excellent stir-fry. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajjepj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States