Monterey Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I had to prepare a luncheon for 150 and used this recipe as one main dish. I doubled the recipe and used 5 crock pots.I grated and shredded the cheeses the day before and measured out zip lock bags for each crock pot. That morning it only took a few minutes to assemble the ingredients and cook the spaghetti. I had more compliments on this dish than on anything else I've ever served. I've another event for this group in April and I've benn asked to "please, please, please include that spaghetti thing in the crock pot."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I had to modify this a bit.I added tomatoes and used yellow onion rather than fried.I also added extra garlic and used less cheese.It came out much better.Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This was great comfort food. I took the advice of others and didn't add so much cheese even though cheese is my favorite food. I also added a can of cream of mushroom soup and 3/4 of the actual needed sour cream. I only cooked it on high for 1 1/2 hours cause it did start to burn, but it gives it a nice little crunch. I will make this again and probably cook it on low and stir it occasionally to keep it from burning on the sides. I will also add more spinach cause I really like spinach. Thanks for the recipe- I LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I followed advice from below, adding 4 cloves of garlic and baking it in the oven at 400 for 40 minutes. I also used egg noodles, fresh chopped baby spinach, and added chopped mushroons. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very yummy! Adjusted this to: 2 eggs, 1/2 sour cream, 1 can cream of mushroom soup, chopped onions instead of fried and used six cheese Italian blend instead of the cheeses listed. Oh, and used bowtie pasta instead. I also added some salt, pepper, basil and oregano. I think next time I'll add some fresh tomatoes. I bet that would be awesome. I followed another reviewer and baked it for 40 minutes at 400 instead of slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I made this dish in the OVEN instead of the crockpot and it worked out well, although I did make a couple changes. I left out the fried onions, increased the garlic to 4 cloves finely chopped, and added hot italian sausage. After combining everything, I baked it in a grased casserole dish for 40 min at 400 degrees (topping w/ extra cheese for the last 10 minutes). It's a keeper recipe done this way and I'd recommend trying it in the oven if the crockpot didn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This definitely has a good flavor. My husband and I loved it - the kids say no though. I was so glad to read the comments before I made it though cuz it helped in preparing it better. Used 3 cans of diced tomatoes for liquid and a whole container of sour cream. Less cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
* 10 oz spaghetti * can of cream of mushroom soup * 1 TBSP minced garlic * baked 400 degrees for 40 mins * Makes 6 good size servings TOTAL PERFECTION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel-Honey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
I added some fresh chopped tomatoes, monterey pepper jack cheese and salsa, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I think I cooked it too long, it tasted very bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States