Monterey Jack Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This was wonderful-definitely needs time in the fridge so the flavors can blend properly. It tasted even better the second day. I served this to some friends, and now my friend's husband is constantly requesting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
vey good - very filling. I used only half the italian dressing, and used 2 (14 oz)cans of diced tomatoes, and 2 avocadoes. Served at my husband's birthday party (made the salsa the night before) and received many compliments, and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Delicious and not like any other salsa I've ever had. The secret is to let it set overnight. I tasted it right after I'd made it... Yuck! I thought I'd wasted my time and ingredients. I didn't throw it out though, and the next day it was Wonderful!! My family always requests it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I took this salsa to a party & it was a total hit! I was disappointed that I didn't make a batch for myself to eat at home. I followed some suggestions & used 1/4-1/2 cup of dressing, chopped garlic & a jalapeno. I also used ColbyJack cheese. This is a perfect summer salsa...very refreshing. I will be making this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I gave it a four because it doesn't look so good. It tastes good though. I omitted the olives and MSG. I used diced jalapeño instead of green chile because I wanted it hotter. I'll use slightly less Italian dresing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
THIS is a keeper! I like this recipe better w/o the avocado but either way it's unbelieveable! I don't use the MSG however it is usually gone before it is put on the table so I don't see a need to! PS-the cilantro MAKES this recipe!! I usually put a little extra. MAKES A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE IF YOU LET MARINATE OVERNIGHT. I have tasted it right after making and wanted to throw it away. I didn't and decided to try it later on and the taste was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
This was a HIT! I wonder if others who made it may've missed the "Zesty Italian" salad dressing? I believe that it's intended to mean Good Seasons (packet mix) Zesty Italian... I used it and made with red vinegar. Also, dropped the MSG, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Strong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This definitely gets better the longer it sits. I would reccomend not getting an italian dressing that is really strong, as it can overpower everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Every woman in the room requests this recipe when I take it somewhere! It is always a hit! It definitely makes a difference if you wait to serve it the next day. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Wonderful! My entire family likes this salsa, including my 4 and 6 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States