Monterey Jack Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Really good, seems and looks odd, but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Loved it! Made the night before my 4th of July party and it turned out great! Used a packet of Good Seasonings Zesty Italian and it made about 3/4 c dressing which was plenty. If I had to describe the taste I would say it is kind of like a layered mexican dip(minus the refried beans)but all mixed together. Really good...even poeple who didn't like blk olives or avacado liked the dip as a whole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
What a hit! Made this for 4th of July BBQ and everyone wanted the recipe! I used less Italian dressing (about 1/2 cup) and pureed an extra tomato. Will be making this over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
As other's have said, this looks less than appetizing but boy does the taste make up for it! I mixed the diced avocados with the prepared Good Seasons Zesty Italian dressing first, to coat the pieces (I was worried about oxidation) and then mixed in everything else (except the MSG, which I omitted!) and let it sit in the fridge for about 10 hours before trying. Delish and no brown avocado pieces (at this time it's been 24 hours since it was prepared)! But we do like heat so after trying several mouthfuls I added 3 Tbls. minced hot peppers and now it's really great! Thanks Debra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Huge Hit! We had this at a Mother's Day gathering and everyone loved it! Even people that don't like tomatoes, loved this. I do not use cilantro (in anthing) so I left that out, and decreased the dressing a little, per other reviewers. I didn't use MSG either. Great recipe! Will make again! In the future, if tomatoes aren't in season, I will probably use rotel for the tomatoes and chilis. Thanks Debra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Hi Everybody. I'm so happy that most everone loves the recipe as much as I do. I enjoy all the variations. I've stopped using the Mrs. Dash, too. I also use more tomotoes, especially when they are in season and look beautiful in the store. This is a fun recipe to add to and take away from based on the seasons and your taste buds. My next variation will be to use a Balsamic Vinagrette in place of the Italian Dressing. Please, please make this a day ahead. It makes all the difference in the world. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Made this for a party and got rave reviews. Very different and yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I love this recipe! I have made it several times, and every time it gets rave reviews. Multiple friends who hate some ingredient have all said they love it none the less. It looks a little funky, but the taste is wonderful. I like to make it with pepper jack for more zing, Newman's Italian dressing, and no MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mercer Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Doubled the avo's because I am a fanatic, ommited the MSG and chile's , used ZESTY italian salad dressing, and result was SCRUMPTIOUS. Can't wait to bring it to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I sort of combined this with a couple of caviar recipes and the result was fantastic! I did add a 15 oz can of both pinto beans and black-eyed peas, 4 cloves minced garlic, 4 chopped jalapenos instead of the green chilis, a chopped bell pepper and no MSG. Did everything in the food processor - so easy! This dish was a fresh surprise at Super Bowl! I will be making it often this summer for warm weather snacking too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States