Monterey Jack Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Definitely ***** I have made this salsa countless of times and like many of us here, been asked for the recipe. A tip here: you can substitute the MSG with sugar (which we usually do in chinese cooking). I find that it helps to balance the tart taste of this wonderful dish. Thank you Debra for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I love this recipe. Everyone always eats it up. I do only use half of the dressing and no MSG. I have even used cheddar when that's all I had, still great. I make it all the time. I like it with corn chips more than tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
wonderful recipe. I add 3/4 cup of the italian dressing (seems to be the right amount) and a half of a small can diced jalapenos and two avocados! Really tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This dip is awesome! I made it for card night and everyone asked me for the recipe! It has a wonderful fresh taste...I added extra tomato and avacado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Huh...who woulda thought?? This IS fabulous, and received compliment after compliment. I did however skip the MSG and added salt in it's place. I actually thought of tossing this with some pasta for an easy dinner for tomorrow. I ended up using Kraft "crumbles" for the cheese which worked very well in this. Next time I will add red onion and jalapeno. Thanks so much Debra for the nice salsa alternative....LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Debra, this is wonderful! I used more cheese and added chipotle chili pepper powder for a little kick. I mixed the dressing with the avocado right away and did not have problems with it turning. I made the evening before, refrigerated it, and set it out about 30 minutes before serving. Everyone hocered over it until it was gone. It really isn't THAT ugly of a salsa...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I gave it a four because it doesn't look so good. It tastes good though. I omitted the olives and MSG. I used diced jalapeño instead of green chile because I wanted it hotter. I'll use slightly less Italian dresing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Wow, amazing. I used only half of italian dressing and added just a little bit of lime juice and it was excellent. My husband did not want to share :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
A tasty variation to regular salsa. I think I would use less Italian dressing next time, so that flavor is not too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
THIS is a keeper! I like this recipe better w/o the avocado but either way it's unbelieveable! I don't use the MSG however it is usually gone before it is put on the table so I don't see a need to! PS-the cilantro MAKES this recipe!! I usually put a little extra. MAKES A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE IF YOU LET MARINATE OVERNIGHT. I have tasted it right after making and wanted to throw it away. I didn't and decided to try it later on and the taste was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States