Monterey Jack Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Definitely ***** I have made this salsa countless of times and like many of us here, been asked for the recipe. A tip here: you can substitute the MSG with sugar (which we usually do in chinese cooking). I find that it helps to balance the tart taste of this wonderful dish. Thank you Debra for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I love this recipe. Everyone always eats it up. I do only use half of the dressing and no MSG. I have even used cheddar when that's all I had, still great. I make it all the time. I like it with corn chips more than tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
wonderful recipe. I add 3/4 cup of the italian dressing (seems to be the right amount) and a half of a small can diced jalapenos and two avocados! Really tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This dip is awesome! I made it for card night and everyone asked me for the recipe! It has a wonderful fresh taste...I added extra tomato and avacado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Huh...who woulda thought?? This IS fabulous, and received compliment after compliment. I did however skip the MSG and added salt in it's place. I actually thought of tossing this with some pasta for an easy dinner for tomorrow. I ended up using Kraft "crumbles" for the cheese which worked very well in this. Next time I will add red onion and jalapeno. Thanks so much Debra for the nice salsa alternative....LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Debra, this is wonderful! I used more cheese and added chipotle chili pepper powder for a little kick. I mixed the dressing with the avocado right away and did not have problems with it turning. I made the evening before, refrigerated it, and set it out about 30 minutes before serving. Everyone hocered over it until it was gone. It really isn't THAT ugly of a salsa...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I gave it a four because it doesn't look so good. It tastes good though. I omitted the olives and MSG. I used diced jalapeño instead of green chile because I wanted it hotter. I'll use slightly less Italian dresing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Wow, amazing. I used only half of italian dressing and added just a little bit of lime juice and it was excellent. My husband did not want to share :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
A tasty variation to regular salsa. I think I would use less Italian dressing next time, so that flavor is not too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
THIS is a keeper! I like this recipe better w/o the avocado but either way it's unbelieveable! I don't use the MSG however it is usually gone before it is put on the table so I don't see a need to! PS-the cilantro MAKES this recipe!! I usually put a little extra. MAKES A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE IF YOU LET MARINATE OVERNIGHT. I have tasted it right after making and wanted to throw it away. I didn't and decided to try it later on and the taste was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States