Monterey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
I absolutely love to cook and do a lot of it, which is the one an only reason I consider myself an experienced cook. The problem with being an experienced cook, is that there don't seem to be many surprises left, whether it be recipes I find, or even the restaurants my husband and I frequent. HOWEVER, this chicken dish, is truly one of the best I've ever eaten! The different ingredients flavored this dish beautifully and it is certainly elegant enough for a dinner party. Thank you Leigh; it's a winner at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
To make your own teriyaki marinade sauce, mix together 1 (6 oz) can of pineapple juice, 1/4 cup of packed brown sugar and 1/4 cup of soy sauce in a saucepan and cook until the sugar is dissolved. With wire whisk, whip in 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger, 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1 dash of celery salt (to taste); continue cooking until well mixed. Allow to cool before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Very nice recipe, Leigh! I wasn't too sure at first as to how this combination of ingredients would fly, but as others have already said, all of the flavors complimented eachother and the results were delicious. I used a lot more cheese, and I had to use a red pepper instead of a green. Served with buttered egg noodles and lots of parm. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
The recipe looked inviting to me except for the fact that neither Hubs nor I are fans of teriyaki marinades. Marinating the chicken breasts in a Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette was a better fit for us. I find baking boneless chicken breasts at a higher temperature keeps them tender and moist, so after baking them for 20 minutes at 400 degrees, I topped them with the vegetables and just a little shredded mozzarella (we didn’t want a whole lot of cheese on the chicken) and returned them to the oven briefly, just long enough to melt the cheese. Nice recipe – we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2001
OUTSTANDING RECIPE!!!!!!!My husband and I loved it. Goes great with mashed potatoes or on a sandwich roll the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Mmmmmm, this dish was great! I used stir fry sauce instead of teriyaki because I thought it would be too sweet. I used turkey bacon and pepper jack cheese. I also marinated the chicken in the stir fry sauce overnight. I served the chicken with pan-fried asparagus, and it was a big hit. There were no leftovers at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This includes a lot of steps, but it worth it. I didn't really think that the teriyaki sauce blended with the other flavors, esp. the bacon. Next time I will omit the teriyaki marinade, eliminating a lot of time too and I think it will be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bark River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is extremely delicious and the recipe works just as it is written. The only modification I made was to omit the butter used to sautee the onion, bell pepper, and mushrooms (believe me you do not need the butter) and I cooked it for an extra ten minutes. I will say that this is an extremely filling meal and probably should be prepared for a groups of very hungry people. I mean, it has bacon, cheese, chicken - it is rich and hearty. But very delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
All I can say is OMG!!! Absolutely fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This had such great flavors. The only drawback that I had with this recipe was that the bacon and butter made for a very rich and heavy taste. I think that if I make it again I will omit the butter. The house LOVED it simply because there was bacon with the chicken. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Alice Chicken

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States