Montecados (Spanish Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BSBNAARONZANGEL
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I used butter instead of shortening and they turned out sooo good. Be sure to let them sit a while cuz they're really soft and fragile when u take them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
MANTECADOS are an unusual textured "cookie" that is almost equivalent to eating cookie dough. These were excellent, and an excellent example of what other cultures LOVE. Thanks for a very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
I tried this recipe even though I was a little leary of a cookie that calls for 2 1/3 cups of melted shortening...that's a lot of shortening! Sure enough the cookies had an odd texture and a very oily after taste...you know, that coated mouth feeling? Maybe the ingredients could be adjusted to decrease the amount of shortening. I did like the hint of anise and the almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I give it a 1* 'cause they don't taste like real mantecados, my family couldn't tell what they were. The traditional recipe takes LARD and eggs (or just yolks... they're even better if u add a cup of wine). i tried to make this recipe just for a change, and it was a huge disappointment. First of all, the shortening ruins their flavor. If you try to make them from lard, you'll find out how softer and flavorful it makes the dough, giving them a special touch, their distinctive sign. Actually that's why these are called "MANTECADOS", because their main ingredient is "manteca" (lard). I didn't like the anise flavor (better with cinnamon or vanilla extract). Another reviewer said their texture is very close to cookie dough and that's wrong, i guess he/she was talking about "mazapán" (another traditional christmas dessert here in Spain, very thick). There are also a kind of little cakes called "mantecadas", not as crumbly as "mantecados", like a type of muffins but made out of lard or fat. In any case, I think i'll keep making my old recipe, will not make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Just as JLB2 I tried out this recipe and found that the texture of my cookies came out crumbly and the cookies tasted oily. I baked the cookies for an extra 20 minutes (in addition to what the recipe called for) and the consistency did not change...they still came out chalky/crumbly. The 5 cups of flour and the 2 1/3 cups of melted shortening seem to be a bit excessive for this recipe. Perhaps the ingredient ratios need to be altered? Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
just like my grandmothers. It wouldn't be Christmas with out them...and yes the original recipe calls for lard and it is worth it. My grandmother made these for special family events and we couldn't wait. my fondest child hood memories come back to me when I smell them baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa diaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Lorena was right, that is quite a bit of shortening. For starters, I used approximately a cup and two tablespoons of lard in place of the shortening. I also combined the mixture with a cup of red wine. If anything, I strongly suggest lard for texture and wine for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This is just to reiterate what the first commenter wrote--the texture you described is what a Montecado should be like. It is like chalk that crumbles into your mouth and gets kind of pasty. Traditionally they are made with lard and not vegetable shortening. However, I find fresh lard hard to find around here and the stuff in the tub has a weird after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Good with the egg and water in the dough and without Chocolate! That is saying alot because all the members of my family are chcoholics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
MANTECADO, is the real name because of the use of MANTECA (shortening). It´s also traditional the use of olive oil instead. I have never seeing a white one (except if you use sugar on top), as it should be well cooked, and it becames quite brown, even toasted on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States