Monte Cristo Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
We loved it! I spread a little mustard and cranberry sauce on the bread. Mixed eggs, salt, pepper, nutmeg and Cinnamon together, Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
i have fond memories of batter dipped & fried monte cristo sandwiches but like how this one has precooked bread. i used a soft but sturdy italian bread & more cinnamon & nutmeg then what was called for. note: consider using lorraine or alpine lace swiss cheese to trim the calories & sodium level. many thanks susie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
Very easy to make. Kids ages (2-4 yrs)loved them! Quick and easy and delicious even to the picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
MMMmmm an amazing Monte Cristo it did make, I got rave reviews with it from my breakfast guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
These were yummy. I used white bread instead of french. I also only used 2 pieces of cheese per sandwich. I had leftover turkey breast, so this was the perfect way to use it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made them for breakfast for the fam. everybody really liked them, they are even better with thick bread and powdered sugar, I will so make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Some_Kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
These have been a hit with my family forever. Changing up the cheese and meats to our liking at the moment or what we have on hand is always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radarslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This sandwich was very good. I too, liked white or potato bread, instead of the french bread. A monte cristo sandwich is supposed to be made with an egg batter, as Susie noted in this receipe. I noticed other reviewers suggested just grilling the sandwiches....that is not a true Monte Cristo. Everything about this receipe is perfect, with the exception of the french bread, and that is just preference...great job Susie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
yummy! I used Challah Bread which is great for French Toast and it soaked up the egg mixture perfectly! Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
We've used a version of this recipe for years...we just vary the ingredients depending on availability and tastes. A small dish of hot maple syrup for dipping is a nice touch! We like it best for lunch or supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States