Monte Cristo Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
A terrific sandwich, however, as written, I would have to have this for breakfast due to the nutmeg and cinnamon. Some people even sprinkle the sandwich with powdered sugar. I prefer this as a lunch, so I season my beaten egg with garlic and onion powder and some pepper. I also cut way back on the amount of swiss cheese stated. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
these sandwiches were very good, but they might have been better with a different kind of bread... the french bread took a long time to cook & didn't cook very well on the inside. Other recipes for Monte Cristo sandwiches use white or wheat bread. Otherwise they were great. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
MMMmmm an amazing Monte Cristo it did make, I got rave reviews with it from my breakfast guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS WAS JUST OKAY. I USED WHITE BREAD INSTEAD OF THE FRENCH BREAD. PLUS THERE WAS WAY TOO MUCH CHEESE ON THE SANDWICH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
These were very good...I made them more like a grilled cheese sandwich after reading the reviews. I will definately be making again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
Made the recipe like it says. I didn't like the french toast part. Although I think that it might be better if it was made more like a grilled cheese sand. Just butter the bread and brown it in the pan before adding the ham, cheese, and turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
Very easy to make. Kids ages (2-4 yrs)loved them! Quick and easy and delicious even to the picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
I tried this recipe but we all agreed there is something missing. Wasn't easy to make... messy. And the kids turned their noses at it. I ended up taking off the french toast and "rebreading" the sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
i have fond memories of batter dipped & fried monte cristo sandwiches but like how this one has precooked bread. i used a soft but sturdy italian bread & more cinnamon & nutmeg then what was called for. note: consider using lorraine or alpine lace swiss cheese to trim the calories & sodium level. many thanks susie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
yummy! I used Challah Bread which is great for French Toast and it soaked up the egg mixture perfectly! Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States