Monte Cristo Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Sounded sketchy at first but I was sick of the same old lunch-time sandwiches. This turned out really good. My husband liked it more than I did. He pronounced it "FantAstic!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made them for breakfast for the fam. everybody really liked them, they are even better with thick bread and powdered sugar, I will so make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Some_Kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
i have fond memories of batter dipped & fried monte cristo sandwiches but like how this one has precooked bread. i used a soft but sturdy italian bread & more cinnamon & nutmeg then what was called for. note: consider using lorraine or alpine lace swiss cheese to trim the calories & sodium level. many thanks susie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Really, really good. It is a filling, change-of-pace sandwich. I followed the recipe exactly and really liked the cinnamon and nutmeg (as did the people I served it to). In addition, I made a dipping sauce from choke cherry jam, and that was a nice complement to the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
These were yummy. I used white bread instead of french. I also only used 2 pieces of cheese per sandwich. I had leftover turkey breast, so this was the perfect way to use it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
MMMmmm an amazing Monte Cristo it did make, I got rave reviews with it from my breakfast guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
These were very good...I made them more like a grilled cheese sandwich after reading the reviews. I will definately be making again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS WAS JUST OKAY. I USED WHITE BREAD INSTEAD OF THE FRENCH BREAD. PLUS THERE WAS WAY TOO MUCH CHEESE ON THE SANDWICH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
A terrific sandwich, however, as written, I would have to have this for breakfast due to the nutmeg and cinnamon. Some people even sprinkle the sandwich with powdered sugar. I prefer this as a lunch, so I season my beaten egg with garlic and onion powder and some pepper. I also cut way back on the amount of swiss cheese stated. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
these sandwiches were very good, but they might have been better with a different kind of bread... the french bread took a long time to cook & didn't cook very well on the inside. Other recipes for Monte Cristo sandwiches use white or wheat bread. Otherwise they were great. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States