Monte Cristo Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is a favorite among the young children in my house. It's great along with some fresh fruit on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
A very easy, basic Monte Cristo sandwich recipe. I agree with others that it might be better served at dinner. For those who said it was messy, you could try serving it as an open faced sandwich. I've had it served this way at restaurants before and it makes it a bit easier to eat. This was a simple meal to toss together when I was short on time. The flavors go together well in my opinion, but I could understand how the French-toast flavors might not be a favorite of some. Still, it's a fun sandwich to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
We've used a version of this recipe for years...we just vary the ingredients depending on availability and tastes. A small dish of hot maple syrup for dipping is a nice touch! We like it best for lunch or supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
We loved it! I spread a little mustard and cranberry sauce on the bread. Mixed eggs, salt, pepper, nutmeg and Cinnamon together, Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Made this for lunch today; used white bread and smoked chicken instead of turkey. Turned out wonderful, enjoyed by all. Served with a simple salad. I think it would be great with a side of soup also. Thanks for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These were good - only alteration was maple syrup for dipping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
7-24-11: I disliked this sandwich but Ann said it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
yummy! I used Challah Bread which is great for French Toast and it soaked up the egg mixture perfectly! Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This sandwich was very good. I too, liked white or potato bread, instead of the french bread. A monte cristo sandwich is supposed to be made with an egg batter, as Susie noted in this receipe. I noticed other reviewers suggested just grilling the sandwiches....that is not a true Monte Cristo. Everything about this receipe is perfect, with the exception of the french bread, and that is just preference...great job Susie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made these for the kids and my 15 YO DS said, "I liked them for the sweetness and the french toasty taste of the bread. With the cheese and meat coming into the background, it was a successful sammie" He said he would eat them again. I also used SF vanilla creamer instead of the milk. The kids love breakfast for dinner anyway and this fit the bill to the T! Thank You Susie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States