Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I forgot the mayonnaise and mustard and these were delicious. I probably will make them just the same next time. We used whole-wheat bread for some and raisin-cinnamon bread for others, and both were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this for lunch today using smoked turkey and baby swiss cheese - no ham. Used dijon mustard for a little extra kick...dipping in strawberry preserves and sprinkling with a small amount of confectioner's sugar made for lots of savory and sweet tastes! Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
bill liked / I was indifferent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Really good, used raspberry chipotle sauce to dip it in yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I made these for lunch and they were well received, as well as quick and easy to prepare. I like them without the jam, the boys like them with it. As a previous reviewer stated: Be sure to dip the sandwiches quickly; if you let them soak up too much of the egg/milk mixture, they get a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
My husband has been asking me to find a recipe for these for years. Finally I found one! He LOVED them!!! I am unable to eat eggs, so I am giving his review for these (since he ate 3 of them!) He LOVES these with the powdered sugar idea and dips his in raspberry jam! Easy dinner to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
These were actually really good, sort of like french toast just with meat. We added slices of fresh tomato and served with Thousand Island dressing on the side like they do at a local restaurant. I probably wouldn't try them with the berry jam, but I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I think that it helps to use a honey or a browm sugar ham and a smoked turkey and i have never heard ofusing strawberry jam but raspberry, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. I made it as instructed but also served it sprinkled with powdered sugar and a ramekin of seedless raspberry jam on the side. No problem with the sandwich falling apart if you dip both sides in the egg and place it immediately into the pan. Next time I would nix the mustard even though I used no more than a teaspoon on each sandwich it was obvious to me and my son. This would be good for breakfast too. Thanks for the quick and easy sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Loved this recipe!! I knew the kids would not like the swiss cheese, so I put mozzarella on theirs. They loved it and loved that they could dip in jelly! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States