Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
My husband has been asking me to find a recipe for these for years. Finally I found one! He LOVED them!!! I am unable to eat eggs, so I am giving his review for these (since he ate 3 of them!) He LOVES these with the powdered sugar idea and dips his in raspberry jam! Easy dinner to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
These were actually really good, sort of like french toast just with meat. We added slices of fresh tomato and served with Thousand Island dressing on the side like they do at a local restaurant. I probably wouldn't try them with the berry jam, but I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I think that it helps to use a honey or a browm sugar ham and a smoked turkey and i have never heard ofusing strawberry jam but raspberry, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. I made it as instructed but also served it sprinkled with powdered sugar and a ramekin of seedless raspberry jam on the side. No problem with the sandwich falling apart if you dip both sides in the egg and place it immediately into the pan. Next time I would nix the mustard even though I used no more than a teaspoon on each sandwich it was obvious to me and my son. This would be good for breakfast too. Thanks for the quick and easy sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Loved this recipe!! I knew the kids would not like the swiss cheese, so I put mozzarella on theirs. They loved it and loved that they could dip in jelly! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Delicous for todays lunch! Used up some of my m-i-l's babka. A little dijon mustard and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I think this taste like the bennigans Monte Cristo, without as much breading (which I prefered), plus it isn't all greasy. We have seven in our family, so by the end of making these, I figured out why some were soggy. I used a pie pan for the liquids, and a slotted metal spatula. Build the sandwich, then place in the liquid, QUICKLY scoop flip and quickly remove allowing the excess to drip off. The sandwich shouldn't stay in the liquid for more than half a sec or else it gets soggy. I used sourdough bread of a regular thickness, and munster cheese, because my family doesn't like swiss. I didn't use mayo or mustard, but powdered sugar over top and seedless raspberry jam for dipping are a MUST-yummy. I also failed to mention that I used leftover ham fro or baked hame from easter- a great way to use leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLEKALGREN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very tasty and quick to make. Served with green salad and fruit kabobs, it made a great casual meal. Made some with veggie "ham" because I am vegetarian, and they were good too. Although I cooked them for the length of time indicated, they weren't as crisp as I hoped. Maybe I' try lower heat for even longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Everywhere that I have eaten a Monte Cristo, the sandwich has always been deep-fried. This recipe is a nice alternative, and the sandwiches are still just as good with a side of jam. I also experimented with using another meat and cheese combination; smoked turkey and cheddar worked well. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Sprinkle powdered sugar on top for an interesting combination. Always use a non-stick or teflon pan. The egg/milk mixture sticks horribly to plain old frying pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States