Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I think I will try it a little bit differently next time, but my husband, the sandwich lover, REALLY liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
My husband and I have been making these for years. We trim the bread and use butter instead of mustard. Then let set for 24 hours in refg. under a damp towel. Dip in egg mixture and deep fry. But why pay 7-15 dollars at resturant when you can do it at home. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I tried this tonight. My favorite restaurant makes these and I always wondered exactly how they made them. I never thought I'd like this, but once I tried it, there was no going back. This version is very much like the one I had with the powdered sugar and raspberry jam. Only difference was their batter was thicker. Still this is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I thought this was great. I like spicing stuff up so, I used Louisiana hot sauce in the egg mixture. Then I put cream style horseradish and mustard. Also, I used potato bread. Not sure if the bread changed sogginess but, I let the bread sit in the mix for 20-30 seconds and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I have also tried a monte cristo dipped in a tempura batter then deep fried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragona72

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I used roast beef instead of ham because it's all I had, but it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I make these without the mayo and mustard and they are still great! I agree with the person who said that deep frying is a regional thing. I had it deep fried once and the greasy thick coating was just too much! For the people who said that something is missing, make sure you are using good quality meats and cheeses and serve with a side of good quality raspberry jam! This is a delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
tradtional monte cristo are deep fried in a much thicker batter. I personally havent made this person recipe cause i have my own version of doing it. I used thick egg bread like Challah or a Brioche bread that can hold the batter. I use whole-berry cranberry sauce on the inside of the bread ham turkey swiss of course and a few slices of good applewood bacon. You can also experiment with a different chesse.... but my batter is made from 1/2 & 1/2 (1/4 cup) and eggs(4 large) to your batter add a dash of nutmeg and black pepper and cook it as if you are cooking fench toast but in a sandwich form.... Plate it with some warm maple syrup for dunking!!! I hope this info helps some1...enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doughboi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is my all time favorite sandwich with the thicker batter....I use a thin pancake batter and please, please don't use deli meats. Use the real thing! Leftover roast turkey and left over baked ham. What's this with a thinner sliced deli ham??????? NOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
The something missing may be the orange marmalade that is usually served with it. MMMMMM-GOOD! Next time I will leave the mayo and mustard off though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States