Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Def. one that I will make again. Maybe add a drop or two of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon for the true french toast taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piglet32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I've never had a monte cristo sandwich before, so I have no point of comparison, but I enjoyed this. I used RIO R's thickened batter (click "Most helpful" and his will be the first review in the list), but I scaled it way down to make enough batter just for one or two sandwiches, and I used milk instead of water. The batter was nice and thick. I only had deli turkey and American cheese, and I used spicy mustard with no mayo. I dipped it in strawberry jam, which I warmed in the microwave for 15 seconds to make it easier to use as a dip. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was a pretty good sandwich. It tasted just a tad too eggy to me so perhaps I will use a bit more milk next time. It's not quite what I remember eating years ago but still a good sandwich. I also did not measure the mayo and mustard. I just put on as much as knew I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I haven't EVER had Monte Cristo deep fried- this is always the way I've had mine. Very simple and basic. can be dressed up more but I just enjoy mine as cooked, no powdered sugar, no jelly-- just as a warm sandwich with the "batter". Excellent recipe. I make it frequently. my daughter prefers it with Cheddar, but it's good any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
To make a thicker batter like bennigans buy a box of tempura batter, and dip the sandwiches in that, then deepfry. DELICIOUS! Also for a spicy kick dip in jalapeno jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utley813

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I used fried bacon, ham & swiss, added a dollop of maple syrup, cinnamon, nutmeg, S&P to the batter fried in butter & served with maple syrup. Hubby says it's the best "grilled sandwich" I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Loved it! I used sliced roast beef in place of ham and used dijon instead of plain mustard. Also added vanilla to the egg mixture. This was perfect served with raspberry jam and a sprinkling of confectioners sugar!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I omitted the mustard, mayo and turkey, mainly because this is how I've eaten them, in the restaurant. Like other reviewers said, quickly dip the sandwich, so they don't turn out soggy. These turned out wonderfully, fried in a pan, on a med-low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Gregoire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lincoln, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was very good. Only change I made since I ran out os swiss, I made one with cheddar and one with swiss and 2 with provolone. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricketinwoods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
awesome! I loved it. just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somerset

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States