Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I used fried bacon, ham & swiss, added a dollop of maple syrup, cinnamon, nutmeg, S&P to the batter fried in butter & served with maple syrup. Hubby says it's the best "grilled sandwich" I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Loved it! I used sliced roast beef in place of ham and used dijon instead of plain mustard. Also added vanilla to the egg mixture. This was perfect served with raspberry jam and a sprinkling of confectioners sugar!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I omitted the mustard, mayo and turkey, mainly because this is how I've eaten them, in the restaurant. Like other reviewers said, quickly dip the sandwich, so they don't turn out soggy. These turned out wonderfully, fried in a pan, on a med-low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Gregoire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lincoln, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was very good. Only change I made since I ran out os swiss, I made one with cheddar and one with swiss and 2 with provolone. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricketinwoods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
awesome! I loved it. just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somerset

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
These were fantastic! I had tried this sandwich years ago in a restaurant in Vegas and I was delighted to see the recipe on this site. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These were great! I used texas toast and it was perfect. Great combination of sweet and savory,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iansmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was soooo good. This is like a turkey/ham melt, but dipped in egg. Mine did come out soggy, but I think I had too much grease in the pan before frying. And next time I won't add so much milk to the egg or add more egg to the milk, since the egg is what gives it that nice crunch. I felt the milk contributed to some of the sogginess. I also added a tomato. Thanks for a great recipe to use leftovers in an unexpected way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I liked it, but Hubby did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
The first time my husband and I had these sandwiches was in Disney World. We have loved them ever since. Much better/healthier than the deep-fried version. The salty/sweet combo is delightful. Did add some flour to the egg batter and used half the amount of milk (half & half) Try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States