Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Ehhh, served it to company and kind of regret it. Not too flavorful, not too crazy about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PPERRY0501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
VERY soggy, not sure if that was my fault. I followed the recipe exactly, but maybe if I omitted the mayo and mustard it may have been better.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This was the first time I trully tried a Monte Cristo and it was delish. My whole family loved them and are already asking me to make them again! Great with seedless raspberry jelly on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I didn't think this was that good. I did use Texas Toast, but made it as 'french toast' first, then added the middle ingredients and recooked. Served with black raspberry jam and sprinkled powdered sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This turned out terribly. Hint: Don't use Texas Toast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I WAS NOT OVERLY THRILLED WITH THIS RECIPE, BUT I THINK IT MIGHT HAVE BEEN THE HAM. I USED OSCAR MAYER BUT NEXT TIME I WILL USE A THINNER SLICED HAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
It must be a regional thing with the folks who say they like their Monte Cristo deep fried. All I've ever seen in my life are ones dipped in an egg/milk mixture and cooked on a griddle like french toast. This recipe is good at duplicating what I've had at restaurants. You definitely can't cook them on too high a heat or the outside will burn before the sandwich is warmed all the way through. Serve with a dusting of powdered sugar and a side of strawberry jam for dipping. Sounds bizarro but is excellent! Now if I only had those crisp restaurant french fries to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was easy and quick to throw together after baseball. The kids loved it with grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Everyone liked this nice hot sandwich. I made it on a cold night with some cream of tomato soup. Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
YUM YUM YUM wow i am full!!!!!!!!!!!!! thank you for this great Recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States