Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This has been a staple at our house for years. The only changes I've made are to add crispy bacon and additional cheeses besides just swiss. I also try to cook it very slowly, and weighing it down with a heavy fry pan after I've flipped it once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
First time making it and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
actually the "original" was pan fried not deep fried as that tends to be a regional way of creating it. either way great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark J. McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Monte Cristo sandwiches have never been appealing to me, BUT my husband thought this was awesome! I made him one with leftover turkey and ham from Christmas dinner. I used 3 slices of bread, and put turkey and Swiss on one side, mayo and mustard on both sides on the center piece of bread, then ham and Swiss. I really pinched the sandwich together around the edges so the egg mixture wouldn'the get inside. Once done, this looked great, and even I considered making myself one (but I just stole a bite from the hubby)! Both of us were very pleased and thought this was an easy and delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
It was okay I should have read that it wasn't a traditional monte cristo. Not bad just not as satisfying as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tshelly
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Made this with rye bread, using a spicy sweet mustard and applewood smoked gruyere and slivered apples!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I love it! Family loves it! I skip the mustard and mayo and use a potato bread or denser white bread. The best part I mix raspberry jam with heavy cream to make the VERY best dipping sauce. Yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I always dip my sandwiches in pancake batter, deep fry and serve it with strawberry preserves. Its very yummy that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
So yummy! One of my favorite restaurant recipes, now made at home. I did serve with strawberry jelly and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Nothing to rant and rave over, but a great option for leftover turkey and ham. I found grilling it left the 'meat' rather cold, so the second sandwich I heated up the inside first and then did the bread second with the meat in the middle (served hot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States