Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
These were fantastic! I had tried this sandwich years ago in a restaurant in Vegas and I was delighted to see the recipe on this site. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These were great! I used texas toast and it was perfect. Great combination of sweet and savory,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iansmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was soooo good. This is like a turkey/ham melt, but dipped in egg. Mine did come out soggy, but I think I had too much grease in the pan before frying. And next time I won't add so much milk to the egg or add more egg to the milk, since the egg is what gives it that nice crunch. I felt the milk contributed to some of the sogginess. I also added a tomato. Thanks for a great recipe to use leftovers in an unexpected way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I liked it, but Hubby did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
The first time my husband and I had these sandwiches was in Disney World. We have loved them ever since. Much better/healthier than the deep-fried version. The salty/sweet combo is delightful. Did add some flour to the egg batter and used half the amount of milk (half & half) Try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
very tasty, next time i might use more egg in my egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittyluv0508

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Made this for my husband and helper for lunch thinking this isn't going to go over very well. My husband love it. You just never know. Even had to make more. The jam really makes the sandwich special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This sandwich was great. Instead of just using a milk and egg mixture, I added a few things like vanilla, cinnamon, and powdered sugar. I substituted the milk with half and half, and I used potato bread. I made this sandwich for Father's Day breakfast. It was so good and filling to my fiance he almost missed lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made this according to the recipe. The sandwiches turned out great. My husband and I enjoyed them for lunch. Serve with fruit salad for a perfect light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I love this sandwich. I omitted the ham. Turkey only was just fine. There's enough egg bath to really soak the bread. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States